We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 29 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here on our way back to Takapuna, the property has a wonderful old world feel, and the environment is very relaxing. Our hosts Ray & Di were absolutely fantastic, they made us feel welcome in their home as soon as we arrived this continued for the duration of our stay. The breakfast was just lovely, I would highly recommend this as a great option while in Whangarie.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us Kathleen, we do appreciate it. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay and maybe will have the chance to return the visit to your B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed for one night on the way back to Auckland airport.
A beautiful old period building with excellent hosts who made us feel at home.
The room was very nice, the bathroom a little small.
If it's an overnight, we'd recommend it

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we much appreciate it. We enjoyed having you stay and also the wines in the garden. Perhaps we will see you in Alaska some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband had set up 2 nights for us and another couple for our first 2 nights in NZ. All four of us loved our visit to Chelsea House. Di and Ray are the best one could ask for and were so patient with 4 tired travelers. Our rooms were perfect, breakfast each morning yummy, and they made excellent recommendations for dinner. We enjoyed wine each evening in the back patio and we loved that they joined us. Would we return? You bet! We hope they'll join us in Alaska. Golfer s will find Ray most interesting if you plan to golf!

Room Tip: Both rooms perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thanks Patty for your lovely review, we appreciate you taking the time to write it while you are on your busy schedule through New Zealand. It was just wonderful having you and the gang staying, we learnt so much about Alaska and would love to visit some day. The wines in the garden were a nice relaxing time at the end of the day...something I could get used to!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to find the Chlsea House B & B 0n the website and had a very pleasant stay here en route to the Bay of Islands. We were made to feel very welcome and had a thoroughly pleasant stay with Di and Ray. The ambiance of the house is lovely, bedroom very comfortable, breakfast room sunny and bright while we enjoyed our breakfast, and we appreciated the use of a very comfortable and welcoming lounge. Gillian H.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Hi Gillian, Thank you for your wonderful review, we do appreciate you taking the time to write it. It was our pleasure to have you stay in our home. I am sure you enjoyed the rest of you trip although possibly the weather was not so kind. Hope you enjoyed our local Thai Restaurant on your way back down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Very convenient and comfortable and the host/hostess were very friendly and helpful.
We were able to get directions to scenic attractions and some very good advice re restaurants. The breakfast was excellent and we liked having a comfortable lounge to use.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the front of the house which is on a busy road. Some people might find this a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review Paul K. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Please come and visit again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend one night at the Chelsea B&B. Di and Ray were able to offer us great advice on sights around the local area as well a Auckland. The room was lovely and very clean and comfortable. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choccylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review Choccylove we really do appreciate your kind words and are happy you enjoyed your time here in Whangarei where we do have some wonderful walks and beaches to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My family of 4 (2 adults, a 6 and an 8 year old) stayed at Chelsea House in December 2013 and had a great stay. Ray and Di were great hosts and were quite happy to give us advice on what to do in the area and were very welcoming for us and our 2 children. The rooms were very roomy but still felt cozy somehow. The beds were comfy and breakfast was great. Thanks again Ray and Di!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane H, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you Chris for taking the time to post your great review. It was so nice to have your family stay with us and interesting for us to learn about where you live. I trust the remainder of you trip was fun and the children enjoyed their NZ experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.3 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
8 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 29 in Whangarei
135 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B By the Park
B&B By the Park
#2 of 29 in Whangarei
46 reviews
1.8 mi away
Russell's Rest
Russell's Rest
#4 of 29 in Whangarei
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 83 Hatea Drive | Regent, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: £61 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a warm welcome when you arrive at our centrally located 100+yr old villa with light airy decor with many architectural features and modern furnishings. Four Restaurants are within a 15minute easy walk and the Town Centre and Basin are a 3 minute drive. Beautiful bush walking tracks are on our doorstep. We have two guest bedrooms, 1 comtemporary styled queen and 1 traditional villa decor styled super-king with en-suite bathrooms. All our rooms have comfortable beds with electric blankets, quality linen and bedding. Guests facilities include spacious lounge, TV/DVD, free wireless internet, safe off street parking and a garden seating area. Enjoy unlimited tea and coffee, home baking and a delicious continental breakfast. Make Chelsea House your base to explore the North. Stay a couple of days as there is so much to do, or base yourself at Chelsea House and explore further afield. With our extensive knowledge of New Zealand we can help you plan your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing