We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many options”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tutukaka Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The first night we arrived it was 7:45 but the office was closed, despite a sign on the door saying they closed at 8. We tried buzzing but there was no response. The signs around the front office with a number of rules about checkout times etc made it seem a bit unfriendly. We ended up having to drive around and find somewhere back in Ngunguru- our advice is to ring ahead because there's not always someone there. The next day we went back to the park as we were diving the Poor Knights for 2 days.

We paid $65 for a cabin (plus $5 for linen including a doona with a rip down one side) with use of the communal kitchen and bathrooms, but were surprised when we had to pay 50c for a 7 minute shower (we were given 2 x 50c pieces as part of our check in to get us started). While the park wasn't terrible, it wasn't fantastic and maybe a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

My adult daughter an myself stayed in a two bedroom cabin for three nights. We were diving on the Poor Knights with Dive Tutukaka. The cabin was clean and comfortable. On the plus side there were new towels every day and there is a drying room for dive gear. On the negative side the cooking facilities are very basic with a portable electric cooker which was not very efficient and although tee and coffee are supplied salt and pepper are not.

Room Tip: The two bedroom units are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very nice place to stay, run by a farmer and his wife. pretty new with great surroundings. did us a good deal and helped us plan a tour of northland. just a short walk to marina, no pub in town but the fishing club have a great facility with good bar and good grub. just sign the visitors book and you are in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here as part of a homeschool group going out to Poor Knights Island, why would you choose anywhere else to stay.
Location was super convenient we could simply walk across the road to the marina.
Facilities were well maintained,clean shower/toilet block,free bbq was a bonus especially if cooking for a group.I would bring along a few extra utensils sharp knives,tongs,can openers etc as with communal kitchens you can hardly expect operators to keep track of everything.
All communications with park operators and staff were friendly,welcoming and I have to say our group experienced excellent customer service from the managers.
We were only booked in for one night but because our cabins were so cosy,clean and convenient we decided to stay another night and checked out Whangarei and surrounding beaches.
Definately recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsygirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

right in town only minutes walk from the Marina and the Poor Knight Dive operators, this campground has a range of budget options from tents to campervan sites, bakcpacker dorm, basic cabins to full stand alone cabins. Owner was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: cabins can get a bit stuffy but you cannot leave the windows open at night because of mosquitoes so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This park was suggested by a collegue who went to Tutukaka for a diving trip. I decided to take the suggestion up as i was in the area with my wife and 2 kids. Having travelled alot over the years in my roll i have to say this is a great place. We stayed in a cabin for the first 2 nights and then did 3 nights in the tent. The park has very nice hosts and a great team of staff. Terrence ( security ) was very funny and certainly kept us laughing till our stomachs were sore. The cleaning was better than i had ever seen and the ladies were always smiling. I belive there was around 500 people at the park while we were there but you would now of known it. All in all a great park and one i will recommend to anyone in the area. Thumbs up guys and gals see you next year,

Room Tip: book well in advance for the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Samantha i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have a family hoilday home at Matapouri Bay. This year other family members were using the bach over NYE. My 17 1/2 year old daughter and her friends wanted to spend NYE up their as they normally did.
They wanted to rent a house at Matapouri Bay. I was nervous about this as I was not going to be able to be there to supervise 4 x17-18 years olds. ( I was not worrried about them but more about other people who may turn up uninvited) So they deceided to stay at the Tutukaka Holiday Park. My daughter arranged it with the owner and he was very helpful with all of my concerns for their stay their. They provided security for the camp ground which me feel very happy that these young adults would have a great time and be safe. They rented a cabin and were very impressed with the facilities at the camp ground. The staff were very helpful and they had a wonderful NYE.
Thank you for giving these kids a safe enviroment for their first parent free holiday.

Room Tip: Book early not to miss out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
11.7 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
14.7 mi away
Casa Blanca Motel
Casa Blanca Motel
#25 of 34 in Whangarei
29 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
148 reviews
13.4 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
13.6 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#16 of 34 in Whangarei
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tutukaka Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tutukaka Holiday Park

Address: 285 Matapouri Road | Tutukaka, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Whangarei
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean ,quiet holiday park. Modern cabins ,some with ensuites, kitchens,linen,tv's. Large kitchen and ablutions building for motor homes and campers to use . Freindly and affordable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing