We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tutukaka Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tutukaka Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Magical spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My friends and I camped here on New Years Eve 2013. We hadn't booked and just turned up and were lucky enough to be given a camp site. Very friendly staff, great amenities. One recommendation would be some kind of lighting as you walk to the ablution block (even solar lights to guide your path) as there isn't any lighting due to the light disturbing campers (I imagine).

Reasonably priced at $20 per person. Trampolines for the kids, plenty of kitchen and BBQ space for everyone.

A quick walk to the local store and marina as well.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank footiesnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    30
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
33
25
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We didn't book and ended up at this camp ground based on a coin toss - and at first I wasn't overly impressed. It wasn't the cheapest and the site that was available to us had no shade and was next to the fish cleaning station. It appeared that none of the sites had any shade though so we decided just to go with it as we couldn't be bothered back tracking.

I happened to mention when paying that I was taking it reluctantly as I really wanted some shade and they showed me another section of the park at the front, lined with big trees! It was a bit of a walk to the facilities but we were able to put up the hammock and have a private little area shaded from the glaring sun - lovely!

There are well equipped kitchens/lounge area and a decent BBQ area too. You have to pay for the showers, 50c for 7 mins, but they gave us two coins out of our fee which was all we needed. There are no views and it's not really close to the beaches but it was a good base and we were able to do a lovely run from here to a lighthouse lookout and had a nice evening around the marina shops.

Basic and a bit overpriced for most of the tent sites but the staff were nice (if you ignore the many, many shout-y signs) and our little spot amongst the trees was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheesemayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We spent one night in a powered site. Not much shade but facilities are clean and well maintained. Be out by 10am or else, there are signs everywhere to remind you of this. Showers cost 50c, which is standard for some parks.
No hair-dryer in the ladies bathroom. Short walk to the marina.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamsnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The first night we arrived it was 7:45 but the office was closed, despite a sign on the door saying they closed at 8. We tried buzzing but there was no response. The signs around the front office with a number of rules about checkout times etc made it seem a bit unfriendly. We ended up having to drive around and find somewhere back in Ngunguru- our advice is to ring ahead because there's not always someone there. The next day we went back to the park as we were diving the Poor Knights for 2 days.

We paid $65 for a cabin (plus $5 for linen including a doona with a rip down one side) with use of the communal kitchen and bathrooms, but were surprised when we had to pay 50c for a 7 minute shower (we were given 2 x 50c pieces as part of our check in to get us started). While the park wasn't terrible, it wasn't fantastic and maybe a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

My adult daughter an myself stayed in a two bedroom cabin for three nights. We were diving on the Poor Knights with Dive Tutukaka. The cabin was clean and comfortable. On the plus side there were new towels every day and there is a drying room for dive gear. On the negative side the cooking facilities are very basic with a portable electric cooker which was not very efficient and although tee and coffee are supplied salt and pepper are not.

Room Tip: The two bedroom units are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikamatua, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very nice place to stay, run by a farmer and his wife. pretty new with great surroundings. did us a good deal and helped us plan a tour of northland. just a short walk to marina, no pub in town but the fishing club have a great facility with good bar and good grub. just sign the visitors book and you are in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here as part of a homeschool group going out to Poor Knights Island, why would you choose anywhere else to stay.
Location was super convenient we could simply walk across the road to the marina.
Facilities were well maintained,clean shower/toilet block,free bbq was a bonus especially if cooking for a group.I would bring along a few extra utensils sharp knives,tongs,can openers etc as with communal kitchens you can hardly expect operators to keep track of everything.
All communications with park operators and staff were friendly,welcoming and I have to say our group experienced excellent customer service from the managers.
We were only booked in for one night but because our cabins were so cosy,clean and convenient we decided to stay another night and checked out Whangarei and surrounding beaches.
Definately recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsygirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Oceans Tutukaka
1.1 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#11 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Tutukaka Coast Motor Lodge
11.7 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
14.7 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tutukaka Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tutukaka Holiday Park

Property: Tutukaka Holiday Park
Address: 285 Matapouri Road | Tutukaka, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Whangarei
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean ,quiet holiday park. Modern cabins ,some with ensuites, kitchens,linen,tv's. Large kitchen and ablutions building for motor homes and campers to use . Freindly and affordable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing