We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well-maintained and tidy caravan park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tutukaka Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Tutukaka Holiday Park is located north of Ngunguru on the winding coastal Matapouri Road just outside Tutukaka township.

You find the marina with surf shops and café at walking distance. Here leave cruises for the Poor Knights Marine Reserve. By car the beaches of Tutukaka coast are reachable in 15 minutes.

The park offers cabins, bunk-rooms and 60 powered sites & 50 unpowered sites. Staffs are friendly and correct. As it was off-season there were few camper-vans in the park. We choose a convenient powered site. Tutukaka Holiday Park lacks the usual semi-permanent & weekend residents who often give a NZ caravan park a somewhat shabby outlook.

The park is adequate, clean and well maintained. Facilities encompass communal toilets & showers, shared kitchen, dining area & TV room and BBQ. Wi-Fi internet is extra.

We found the caravan park very quiet and OK priced for the quality offered. A fine place to stay with your camper-van when you need a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms were okiesh. .. the park was close to the Marina which was good. The quality of the accomodation was poor. Worst of all was the service of the owner Grant. I have travelled a lot and stayed in lots of holiday parks and I must say.. I have never dealt with a worst operator before. Never going back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 80Fadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grant a, Owner at Tutukaka Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

This girl along with 2 others booked a two night stay in one of our cabins. At 6pm on the second night she wanted to leave and to be refunded (apparently she wanted to leave as she had a wet suit problem and at that point had had no problems with their accommodation ). Our check out policy is in line with all other camps in New Zealand and is 10am, and no refund for early departure, which is plainly stated in our office. If she wished a refund she should have departed at 10 am not 6pm. She was abusive to me and my staff. To add to this I also saw a man leaving their cabin the morning of their departure carrying a sleeping bag who was not booked into a cabin. Consequently I have asked the management of her Auckland diving group to never come here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very clean campground, with a fair amount of different accommodation options. If you're tent camping, the power point is not your standard 3pin domestic socket.
Across the street is the petrol station/dairy. This is joined to the main shopping area, and a large hotel. I think there's about 3 places to eat in the marina.
You also leave from this marina for the Poor Knights cruises. And the beaches of the Tutukaka coast are only 10-20mins drive away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CookieM0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We chose Tutukaka Holiday Park because we wanted to do the day hikes around the Tutukaka coast. Its central location is ideal to discover the area. The kitchen and bathrooms were very clean. The BBQ was also clean, it was wonderful to walk over and put our lamb steaks on the clean surface. The campground was very quiet and we slept very well in our campervan.

The Tutukaka Headland walk to the lighthouse is a must-see. The walk from Matapouri to Whale Bay is a running/jogging trail and we ran it in the morning and then drove back to the campground for showers and breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband, my father-in-law and I had a converted caravan which had been made into a cottage. Loads of space. There was an initial problem with the fridge, which the owners replaced for us within a day. They were very helpful and accommodating. The holiday park is clean, well-run, and very convenient for the main harbour area of Tutukaka. Would be a good place for families, or groups who were going diving.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay here overall, it was clean, with a good view over the fields (we were lucky with our pitch) and the facilities were good too - especially the kitchen which was the roomiest we used in the month we were travelling around NZ. Fantastically placed if you're visiting Dive Tututkaka. The only downside was the birds which were a little intrusive when eating, and which were noisy early in the morning! Would recommend.

Room Tip: If you can, arrive early and get a pitch that faces the fields with an unobstructed view. That way y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and found this to be a well run spotlessly clean great place to camp with excellent facilities. Very close to the marina for all you divers/surfers/fishers. Many farm animals to look at over the fence were an added bonus for us.The people who have posted negatively do seem to be complaining about minor issues from their perspective. The prices are inexpensive to stay in this lovely spot. The owners run a very tight ship and we think this is great. We have stayed in many Camping Grounds and this is very close to perfect! Would reccommend strongly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pihagall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
1.1 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
685 reviews
11.7 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
13.1 mi away
Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
150 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
297 reviews
13.4 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tutukaka Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tutukaka Holiday Park

Address: 285 Matapouri Road | Tutukaka, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Whangarei
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean ,quiet holiday park. Modern cabins ,some with ensuites, kitchens,linen,tv's. Large kitchen and ablutions building for motor homes and campers to use . Freindly and affordable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing