We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Retreat”
Review of Hopewell B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hopewell B&B
Ranked #7 of 30 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Retreat”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Really great place to stay a weekend or longer.

Nice area to stay. The B&B is well presented. The room we stayed in was very tidy and clean. We woke up with a wonderful sunrise and could watch it right from bed. The breakfast was delicious, the service very good and the hosts friendly . There was nothing to wish more. Had a wonderful time and would recommend it always. We will certainly come back.
We visited Mimiwhangata Coastal Park and went to The Gallery and Cafe Helena Bay Hill. There is plenty to do and to explore. We will be back...

Room Tip: all rooms have perfect seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Auckland,
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Very friendly hosts welcomed us when we arrived at Hopewell. We were surprised to find such stunning views from the deck. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and very well prepared. We would recommend this to anyone travelling in this area.

Regards from Nayna and Richard.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nainz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stopped at the B&B on the first night of our NZ trip. And to be honest the area is a must to see, beautiful empty beaches, bush walks and the wonderful nature.

The views are absolutely stunning, but what made this B & B stay so delightful was the hospitality and friendliness of the host Marianne and Ralph.

Thank you for explaining us what to see and do, next time we stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Not listed in one of those book, we found a treasure along our way to the Bay of Islands. Rooms with a view to die for, nice hosts and a yummy breakfast, with everything you wish...
Had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the wonderful stay, Thank you for the hospitality, Merci and Vielen Dank!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

After arriving early morning in Auckland, we were heading first north towards the Bay of Islands. Choosing the coastal route, we found the Helena Bay Hill Gallery and Cafe, where we enjoyed great views and lunch. So we decided to stay in this B&B nearby.

This was a really good choice for several reasons.
The views are even better than in the cafe (which is only 100m down the road).
The host are really nice. The rooms are perfectly placed with a fantastic sea views.
The breakfast was delicious.
Also we spend the late afternoon in the Mimiwangatha DOC reserve, walking and even swimming (15 minute drive), but there are also other beaches even closer.

Again would recommend this place.

Room Tip: all 3 rooms have the same ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Great place on the coastal - very scenic - route to the Bay of Islands.

Nice and very friendly hosts. Beautiful rooms with magnificient views over the bay (even from the bed). We could only stay one night,but would love to stay longer next time.

Delicious breakfast, almost too much.

A must, visit one of the nearby beaches.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently after coming across it by chance when we had been let down by another place. What a great result that turned out to be. We arrived late at night and unannounced but the owners Marianne and Ralph could not have been more responsive and helpful, a theme that continued from them during our stay. The rooms are new, well appointed and very clean and tidy with lovely views across the hills and valleys towards the sea. Breakfast was plentiful with homemade cakes and jams on offer, served on a decked area again with stunning views. Evening meals can also be offered if booked. A short drive to the main areas of Whangerai and Pahia are well worth it to stay in this beautiful place. Great value for money and would definitely stay again and not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar size and standard with views. All perfectly fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
18.0 mi away
Pentland House B&B
Pentland House B&B
#5 of 30 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
16.6 mi away
Russell's Rest
Russell's Rest
#4 of 30 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 30 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
17.5 mi away
Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast
17.6 mi away
B&B By the Park
B&B By the Park
#2 of 30 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopewell B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopewell B&B

Property: Hopewell B&B
Address: 1349 Russell Road, Whangarei 0184, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hopewell B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Helena Bay Hill with great views from Cape Brett to the Poor Knight Island. The location is along the scenic rural road from Whangarei to Russell only 4.5 km from the coast. Hopewell Bed & Breakfast provides a high quality guest accommodation in a distinctive location. It is operated with highest standards and special focus on individual client service and client satisfaction.Offered are three en suite guest rooms, all with separate entrance and ocean view. Features: fantastic sea views from property and also from each guest room completely new renovated, all guest rooms with en suite bath or shower, individually designed and furnished, free access to sauna, privacy (quiet, set far back from street) convenient and close to several stunning beaches (closest only 5 minutes) neighbouring to the Helena Bay Gallery and Cafe close to Mimiwhangata Coastal Park (DOC park), close to other tourist attraction (e.g. town of Oakura and Whangaruru or dive operators), area offers great tracking opportunities (starting from property) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hopewell B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing