We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee”
Review of Mokaba Cafe

Mokaba Cafe
Ranked #14 of 130 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Stunning location, delicious food & coffee, gorgeous cakes & pastries including gluten free, friendly service, licenced, free wifi, plenty of parking. Fully licensed.Delightful all day cafe overlooking the bustling Whangarei Town Basin where boats from all over the world are moored. Open 7 days from 8am - 5pm,fabulous food (including gluten free options) and delicious Chiasso coffee are served all day by friendly, welcoming staff. Zenbu hotspot wifi available - free download vouchers. After an exciting Mokaba experience there is a wide range of excellent boutique shops, artisans and craftsmen, museums, parks and a boardwalk along the side of the Hatea River.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Coffee”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great friendly atmosphere. Service was excellent. A well covered menu with something for everyone. Pleasant view.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelsnake53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi there - thank you for reviewing Mokaba Cafe, we really appreciate getting good feedback and hope that you will come and visit us again soon. Kind regards Anna and Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    107
    28
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, but not impressed with their toilets”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Went to Mokaba with a group of friends. The food is nice. I had the sirloin steak. It is lovely. The coffee and smoothies are also of a high standard. We went in a big group and the meals came out very fast. Everyone enjoyed their food. However when we need to use the toilets that was when my impression of their place went down; they are quite old and the the bin was filled with paper to the top. It was not very clean too. If they can improve on just this I am sure my impression would be much higher. Please upgrade your bathroom facilities if you have an opportunity. It is the only thing which lets your beautiful restaurant down :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nitra001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your excellent comments with regards to the food and the service - we are always delighted that our customers enjoyed themselves so much when they come to visit. I appreciate your comments with regard to the toilet facilities also, they are pencilled in for a refurb during the quieter Winter months already. The toilets are checked 4-5 times a day by the staff and cleaned/serviced as often as necessary although during really busy periods when the staff are serving cafe customers this sometimes has to be delayed and also is is very difficult for us to avoid very many non cafe customers using our facilities. But this is our issue to deal with and I can assure you we will do our best to improve our service in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun Easy Cafe with good food”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We were drawn in by the deluxe coffee at the harbor side, but found some really good breakfast and lunch options too. A pleasant experience with nice food and coffee

Helpful?
Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your review and it's great to see visitors to NZ dropping in at Whangarei and enjoying many of the facilities including cafes and the scenic sights the area has to offer - we hope you enjoyed all of them. Spread the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent a week in Whangarei, and highly recommended Mokaba for great coffee. So good, we didnt even try any other place. Plus great views over the boats in the town basin.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samarkand60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for your review - it was a pleasure to hear that we wow'ed you so much you couldn't go any where else! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers Justin & Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Terrible”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Served mussels that weren't open in the shells. Bread was burnt on the BLT, fries over cooked and not edible. Service was terrible, food came out at separate times. Charged $4.50 for a 400ml of bottled water. Wait staff never asked how meal was. Overall I would not recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fleurtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin L, Owner at Mokaba Cafe, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Fleur - thank you for your feedback - as owners we are very disappointed with the experience you received and it gives us a valuable opportunity to use your comments for training and service improvements. We serve many customers daily, weekly etc and with a lot of regular and generally receive good feedback, but we can never let our guard down. We'd love you to try it again so that you can receive the service and foods that we pride ourselves on. Regards Anna & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mokaba Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Mokaba Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing