We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will be back Hosts Sandra and Brian lovely people made us very welcome. everything was first class”

Woodlands By the Sea
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodlands By the Sea
Ranked #23 of 29 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Very relaxing hosts put 100% into their work house and gardens rooms and bathrooms are of the highest standard would recommend
anyone to stay with them food is of the highest quality. Views are beautiful as are the gardens. We live in Northern Ireland, when we return to N.Z. we will stay again with Sandra and Brian. We would give them 5stars for everything they provide towrards N.Z. tourism.
They are good ambassadors for New Zealand and we have given their cards to our friends both here and in your own country.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank widePortadown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We were greeted on arrival by our very friendly hosts Sandy and Brian who made us feel very welcome. Our rooms very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, due to the inclement weather, we were unable to make full use of the patio with it's beautiful views over the bay and didn't get to explore their landscaped garden fully...maybe next time!!
Francis and Angela Allen.
Jersey,Channel Islands U.K.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frangipani46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Woodlands By The Sea was my first experience saing at a Bed and Brekfast and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Sandy and Brian were warm and helpful and went out of their way to advise us on what to expect in the Parua Bay area. The accommodations were splended and the food was excellent. The garden setting was peaceful and Sandy gave us an educational tour, identifying the different plants and birds. I especially enjoyed having breakfast in the dining room over looking the lawn and garden, with the sea in the backgound. I would reccomend staying there if you are in the Northland area.

Herb Soken
Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbsoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We had been touring around both south and north island of New Zealand for two weeks when we finally arrived at Sandy & Brian's bungalow home for a 3 night stay. They made us feel at home right away and we enjoyed the experience of staying with these friendly New Zealanders. Our room had its own patio door entrance, with lovely views over part of their beautiful garden and Whangarei Bay beyond, so we were able to come and go as we liked. Very comfortable room complete with fridge in which were items for our continental breakfast plus the essential kettle to make a drink and the separate bathroom and toilet were lovely and clean. We had a tour around the garden, which both Sandy and Brian created and maintain themselves, and enjoyed a meal with them both on our last night. We would certainly recommend a stay at this pristine accommodation owned by such a lovely couple.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_log_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We loved staying at Woodlands. Brian and Sandy were really lovely hosts and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our unfortunately brief (only one night) stay. They let us use the second bedroom (since no one else was staying there) to store our suitcases, so we'd have more space in our somewhat small bedroom. The bathroom was wonderful and spotless, with both a large tub and a stall shower. The toilet is in a separate room from the bath. A continental breakfast is included. In the morning, Brian gave us a wonderful tour of the very elaborate gardens that he and Sandy constantly improve on. Then we sat chatting with Brian over coffee and tea looking out at the view. Sandy had to leave in the early morning unfortunately, so we only saw her the day of our arrival. If you are looking for a very comfortable night and a chance to meet some lovely New Zealanders, this is your place. There are some wonderful walks on the Whangarei peninsula as well as Ocean Beach. It is off the beaten path, which is very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1793933, Owner at Woodlands By the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2011

Thankyou for complimentary review and we loved having you.Yes I missed out on coffee with you unfortunately.Cheers Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
9.6 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
150 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
297 reviews
9 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#16 of 34 in Whangarei
58 reviews
9.8 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 34 in Whangarei
130 reviews
6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands By the Sea

Address: 42 Ritchie Rd. | RD4, Parua Bay, Whangarei 0174, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Woodlands By The Sea B+B "is a boutique style accommodation. Large private bathroom with seperate toilet, Queen size Room and a Twin Share are available. Decor new and fresh and a private Patio with separate locking from Home. Continental Breakfast inc in tariff.Tea/Coffee/Fridge facilities available. Set in 1 1/2 acres of landscaped gardens. Panoramic views of Parua Bay for Queen Room. Tavern/Supermarket close by. Restaurants 5 mins away ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing