We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We loved our stay here. Our family stayed in a 2 room cabin with balcony. We all agreed it was really great. Air flowed nicely through the unit so it was cool and fresh.
Located right next to a great park and bush walks winding up to Whangarei Falls made for a good outing for us with our teenage kids. The park nearby is fabulous for younger kids.Location to town was very handy but not in town.
The staff on check in were really helpful and the office was fully stocked with useful brochures.
The beds were really comfortable one of the best holiday parks I have ever stayed in.
Definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thanks Anita for your lovely review and recommendation. We agree that we are in an absolutely fabulous location too, and the peacefulness and ambiance that our internationally awarded scenic reserve and park (directly accessible, and with children's playground) backdrop gives us, is stunning, especially given that we are less than 2 kms from the city centre. With the choice of walking bush and riverside tracks to either Whangarei Falls, or to Quayside with its buslting Town Basin marina, cafes, boutique and artisan stores, and museums, there's certainly something for everyone.
Wishing you safe future travels,
Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holdiay Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We stopped on a powered site for one night. The amenities were very clean and the kitchen well equipped and also extremely clean. Even though it's not a massive site we didn't feel crammed in and the layout is very good. The site is lovely and quiet and we slept like logs. A very charming holiday park well worth a visit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jay1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thanks so much for you review. We are delighted that you had such a fabulous stay, and sleep! Being a smaller Park that is tucked away down a quiet side street, and right next to an internationally recognised NZ Scenic Reserve, our Holiday Park is very quiet and has a wonderful ambiance. We are extremely proud of our brand new amenities interior upgrade, and our focus on cleanliness and friendliness is always a top priority.
Wishing you safe and happy future travels,
Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently. The holiday park is right by a nice bush walk that will take you to the city Marina. Having said that, it is a half hour walk and is not flat so a car would be handy here. The units are reasonably clean but the toilet floor could have done with a little closer attention. The staff are very nice friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeymakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

We appreciate your feedback and have immediately investigated the issue you raised. With a fabulous reputation for friendliness and cleanliness, our aim is to always exceed expectation in both, so your comment surprised us. We would urge you to let us know personally if anything at all is amiss, so that things may be rectified immediately by our team. The bush and riverside walks in internationally award-winning Parihaka Scenic Reserve, which adjoins our property, are certainly a wonderful way to enjoy our natural environment. And with a range of walks to choose from; easy riverside to strenuous uphill to the lookout, there's something for everyone. Our wonderful coastline and spectacular beaches are definitely on the must-see list as well. We are thrilled you intend to stay with us again, and wish you happy and safe future travels.
Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

32 of us from Stewart Centre @ EIT stayed in Whangarei Top 10 for 5 nights. We were very impressed with the accommodation. Great rooms with very comfortable beds, great facilities, friendly staff that go out of their way to make sure everything is OK and they were very helpful when we had last minute itinerary changes. How many places can you sit outside in the moonlight and listen to the moreporks. Thank you so much for the big part you played in making this such a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCatEIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. :-) We are absolutely thrilled that you such a fabulous stay here with us, and it was a real pleasure to host your group. We certainly know that we have an incredible location here, a stone's throw from the city centre, yet nestled right next to stunning NZ scenic reserve; a perfect place from which to explore the North. Our team work hard always to deliver on quality, cleanliness and friendliness too, so we are thrilled that we achieved top scores all round.

Wishing you safe future travels,

Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed over for a few nights in Whangarei in April and we were very happy with the self contained 2 room unit we were in. Really nice atmosphere, great lounge and kitchen. We are going to be staying there again next week and really looking forward to it! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

We appreciate your review very much, Melody, and are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your last stay with us. Our quiet, private, natural setting, overlooking scenic bush reserve and stunning Mt Parihaka, certainly does give us a wonderful ambiance and atmosphere. And being situated on a quiet side street, just adds to it. We love our natural timber interiors in our self-contained units and motels too. We very much look forward to hosting you again.
Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I love the Top10 holiday parks for affordable but clean and quiet accommodation. This is a busy park even in the quiet winter period but I can see why - smart units, super clean shared facilities and friendly staff.

The staff are well informed and keen to share their local knowledge. It is walkable from the town centre but would be better for those with transport.

The double bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on in ages although those in the bunks get thinner less comfortable mattresses.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

We are delighted that you had such fabulous, affordable stays with the TOP 10 Holiday Parks throughout New Zealand. All TOP 10 Holiday Parks work hard to deliver top service, top cleanliness and top value, so that you can always be assured of a great stay, wherever you are in New Zealand. With 50 TOP 10 Holiday Parks around the country, you'll always find one at the end of a day's travel.
So glad that you found our queen-sized bed one of the most comfortable in New Zealand, and thanks for the feedback about our bunks. We're off to investigate better mattresses for them today :-)
Trust you had a fantastic time exploring New Zealand. Wishing you safe future journeys,
Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed in a campervan for three nights in June. All the staff were very friendly, from receptionists, to cleaners and the night security chap.and the place was very clean. Great little TV room - which was perfect in the evenings for me in my very small camper van, now that it's pretty chilly at night. It had good sofas, and more importantly, a heater!
Went for a great walk from the back of the site over to Whangerei falls - it's a long way, but worth it (over two and a half hours for the round trip and wear decent walking shoes).
Great for a city site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhangareiTOP10, Owner at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thanks very much for your feedback Karen. Our top priorities here at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park, are friendliness and cleanliness, so we are delighted that we totally delivered on both counts! Great that you took a walk, directly accessible from our Park, through our stunning native forest Reserve to Whangarei Falls - it is definitely worth the walk - especially as Parihaka Reserve has recently been awarded the prestigious international Green Flag Award (1 of just 14 awarded in the Southern Hemisphere).
Wishing you safe future travels.
Cheers
The Team at Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
1.6 mi away
Whangarei Central Holiday Park
2 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
1.5 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
58 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
1.7 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 24 Mair Street | Kensington, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Whangarei
Price Range: £57 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, central, scenic setting in spacious surroundings, Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park offers Motels (Studio, 2 Bedroom, or 4 Bedroom), Self Contained Units (2 Bedroom), Ensuite Units, Superior Standard Cabins (with TV), Power/Tent Sites, FREE WiFi (100 - 250 MB per day), FREE BBQ, TV Lounge. Situated right next to stunning native forest reserve and park,with direct access to walking tracks, and located down a quiet street (the only holiday park in town away from busy roads), we are less than 2 kms from the city centre, and an easy 1 km walk from supermarkets and restaurants. Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park has excellent facilities and a top-rate reputation for cleanliness and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Whangarei TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing