We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Climb, walk, and wade your way through the Abby Caves!”
Review of Abbey Caves

Abbey Caves
Ranked #11 of 55 things to do in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kitchener, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Climb, walk, and wade your way through the Abby Caves!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We climbed, walked, and waded our way through the first (organ) cave and peered into the other two caves and had lots of fun. As noted in other posts, it is important to bring a flashlight or head lamp and proper shoes. I wore a pair of closed toe crocs and found they gave the right amount of grip/protection without the worry of getting my hikers soaked. For safety reasons, this is definitely a two person or group activity. Have a blast and don't forget to turn off the lights on occasion to take in the glow worms dotting the cave walls!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    30
    9
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“!!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Guys, if you want see something spectacular, visit abbey caves. It was actually our first caving experience and it was so good! Must have torch, no iPhone... Must have real shoes, no flip-flops, must have another clothes for later. :-) ambasador at carpark told us we will get wet bcs water level is somewhere around hips :-) what a suprise when my wifie sank and water level was actually around her neck??? :-) but it was cool and you have to go! Recomended from us!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Zdenda Beasty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing experience for those that want adventure with ease.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Although I am a local, I have not ventured into all 3 caves all the way until now. Wow! Incredible to think we have this on our doorstep for free. Wearing closed in shoes is a must as they get wet and you can't see what's in the water. Also a head torch and a fine day - if the weather has been wet the water levels in the caves can rise considerably making it difficult to fully access. There were amazing displays inside of rock formations, stalectites and glow worms. The Organ cave is best and biggest. Make sure someone knows where you are and what time you are expected back. Fabulous - will definitely go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank figjam_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coromandel, null, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“easy caving experience”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

incredible easy caving experience, amazing trees rocks, yes rocks, and water. not slimey. very dark. glow worms

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pure adventure”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

if you really want to feel like you are the first adventurer to ever set foot in this cave, this is the place to go. you got to be flexible to climb the boulders at the entrance. the cold water is maybe knee deep, but if you turn off the light, you are surrounded by glowworms. caving for free with lots of fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbey Caves also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Abbey Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing