We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for exploring Whangarei Heads” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shores Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shores Accommodation
Ranked #7 of 32 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Whangarei Heads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable 11 night stay over Xmas in the Manaia apartment. The accomodation is light, modern & open plan with comfortable, good quality furnishings. The kitchen is fully equipped with a good size fridge/ freezer so stock up before arriving - the nearest supermarket is at Parua Bay. There are 2 double bedrooms with comfortable beds & plenty of linen & towels & a washing machine & drier next to the bathroom. A feature of the apartment is a full width deck with magnificent, uninterrupted views of Mt Manaia, you could happily spend the entire stay here under the sun awning with the barbecue & a large glass of wine! A short drive away is the Bream Bay scenic reserve where there are lovely walks or the more energetic can climb to the top of Mt Manaia. Lil & Ron are friendly & helpful hosts who are happy to share their tips on what to see & do, we are very glad we discovered them & Shores.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank coromandel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilRuffell, Owner at Shores Accommodation, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
I just realised we hadn't responded to your review - thank you so much for your kind words, it's great to think you enjoyed your stay! We really enjoyed meeting you, it was a pleasure to have you stay at Shores - especially over Christmas. We are very pleased you were happy here and that you found plenty to do during your stay. Special thanks for feeding the cat while we were away. : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Two adults and two teenagers (1 girl, 1 boy) spent time in both the Mania and Koru rooms. Both are fabulous. BBQ, wash/dry facilities, self contained, comfortable, fresh, new this was a spectacular find in the high season. Friendly and helpful hosts. Location idyllic with easy access walk (while carrying kayaks) to the water. Wonderful value. Definitely recommend and will definitely stay here again next time we are in the area. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Koru room has two bunks in contained area, Mania the second room had large bed (queen I think) and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilRuffell, Owner at Shores Accommodation, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
We really appreciate your positive review, thank you. We are always pleased to hear people have enjoyed their stay here at Shores in our little slice of heaven... It was lovely to meet you, I'm so glad you and your family had such a good time. All the very best, Lil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Easter 2013 we made our second visit to "Shores". Our earlier visit in January 2013 was with family and the accomodation was just great for 2 adults and 3 children. Our 2nd visit was with Overseas Adults visitors and we chose the stand alone 2 Bedroom apartment. Our visitors and Us were most impressed with the quality of accomodation and facilities once more. Our Hosts, Lil and Ron treated us like family and were very helpful, no request was ever an issue. We were given very informative brochures and information on the surrounding area and walks available. There are Kayaks , Boogie Boards etc available for those staying in the premises. We were so busy doing other things we plan on returning again and making use of these.Would highly recommend both units available and look forward to our next holiday at "Shores". Very fair and reasonable rates for the excellent quality of accomodation.

Griffiths Family
Auckland.

Room Tip: Owners very flexible and will try their hardest to work with your needs for short or long stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyG244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilRuffell, Owner at Shores Accommodation, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Shores, and for the generous comments! We have thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and your lovely family and friends - one thing we love about providing accommodation. We believe we live in paradise and we enjoy others enjoying it so much. We're so glad you'll be back! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

If you're looking for great accommodation in a peaceful location this is the place for you. Situated across the road from a quiet bay, this is a wonderful spot. You can walk the kayaks down for paddle in the bay or there were plenty of walks near by. The studio is more than a studio - the bedroom is separate and the kitchenette and laundry are in a separate room which makes the living space great. It has everything you need (including plunger for coffee, BBQ, all the kitchenware you need) and is exceptionally clean and tidy. Towels and bedding are nice and there's a stack of DVDs and a couple of board games too. Lil and Ron are lovely and really accommodating. The Bay of Islands is do-able for a day trip from here too. And if you're looking for great beaches closer by they've got that too. We would love to come back - great accommodation, wonderful location, and exceptional value!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilRuffell, Owner at Shores Accommodation, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thanks so much for the great comments, we love to see people making the most of the area and you certainly did that. Glad you found the Koru Studio so comfortable. it was a pleasure to meet you both! All the very best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

My partner and our friends stayed here for New Years week 2012-2013. the accommodation is immaculate and has everything anyone needs away from home! All amenities are there, the beds are sooo comfortable. lil's house is right near by but this is not a bother as they keep to themselves but are more than willing to offer information, help when asked!!!
Locations is a 20 second walk to taurikura bay which is gorgeous - nearby are plenty of other bays and surf beach - ocean beach. Mount Manaia is right on the doorstep as well and is a lovely walk with great views of the heads! Lil is super nice! she offers her own equipment such as tennis racquets, kayaks etc to use at will. Whangarei is about 40min drive if need to stock up on things otherwise there are great cafes, stores, and takeaways nearby!!
This place is fantastic for a couples getaway, small amount of friends or a family!! whangarei heads is a slice of new zealand paradise!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilRuffell, Owner at Shores Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
We are so pleased you all had such a great time, it was good to see you all making the most of everything on offer here at Whangarei Heads... We think it's an undiscovered slice of paradise! Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This was one of the best family holidays we had, thanks to Lil and Ron from Shores Accommodation. The accommodation is luxurious, comfortable, very tidy and great location. The kayaks and dinghy, available with the accommodation, was great fun and a nice way to explore the beautiful Taurikura Bay and nearby island. Whangarei Heads is a beautiful destination that offers a variety for the whole family; great waves for the surfers along the open coast, calm waters within the bays where smaller children can swim, great fishing, lovely nature walks and a nice golf course only 12 minutes away. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andries C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilRuffell, Owner at Shores Accommodation, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thanks so much Andries and Ronel, it was a pleasure to have you to stay and see how much you and your children enjoyed yourselves while you were here. There certainly is plenty to do and you made the most of that! We look forward to seeing you again, all the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

After a long haul flight the accommodation is well equipped and comfortable. The beds especially are the most comfortable ever. The owner Lil provided home made muffins in arrival. If you want to stay in this area you won't get better. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clairelouise_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilRuffell, Owner at Shores Accommodation, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
It was wonderful to meet you and we are so glad you had comfortable sleeps after such a long trip! Thanks so much for your positive comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
14.4 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
13.8 mi away
Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast
13.7 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 35 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
#10 of 35 in Whangarei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
14.0 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 35 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shores Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shores Accommodation

Property: Shores Accommodation
Address: 2345 Whangarei Heads Road, Whangarei 0174, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our accommodation is brand new and purposefully built for comfort and relaxation during your visit. The beach is just across the road.The Manaia Appartment is a two bedroom, fully self-contained apartment, quiet and comfortable with amazing views. Contemporary and top quality Spacious living area, Heat pump, Deck with outdoor furniture, Two double bedrooms, Fully equipped kitchen, Washer / Dryer. Our Koru Studio apartment is very comfortable with a double bedroom and a bunk alcove. Sunny with great views of the beach it is private with a furnished patio area. This apartment has kitchen facilities, a washer and dryer.Both apartments have access to Wireless Broadband, Freeview, 2 kayaks, dinghy, snorkelling gear, tennis and much more! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing