We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Business Travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for Business Travel”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I decided to stay at the Kingsgate Hotel the night before a Business Meeting. Overall I would give this Hotel an Average Rating. Reception staff friendly and helpful at Check-in and Check-out. The room I stayed in was quite small but was very clean and has Air-Conditioning and SKY TV. Great for an overnight stay. I dined at the Restaurant on the night of my stay and found the food and service to be very average. I tried a couple of times to engage in conversation with the waiter and waitress but they didn't seem that interested in a friendly conversation.I would be happy to stay here again if I'm in the area for Business purposes as I found the rates for the accommodation good value and the hotel is in a great location near the city center. Overall this is a great hotel if travelling on business but I wouldn't stay here on a personal holiday or trip away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    72
    76
    35
    16
See reviews for
37
70
7
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Have stayed in this hotel many times over the last three years and nothing indicates that it will get better. The rooms are tidy, clean and basic, which is good if you are staying one or two nights. There is an indoor pool and a basic gym. Not much of a view to speak of. The decor is out dated and smells musty. The restaurant is large and well appointed but the meals are not special, not much of a selection and over priced. Depending on the staff on at the time depends on the level of service. Check your bill closely when checking out. Extras were added on. Not a good look. The best part of my stay is the central location. Easy to find, close to the town basin and on the road to the airport. Watch out coming out of the exit. You need to time it right to get into the flow of the traffic.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the main road and on the ground floor. No lifts if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed at the Kingsgate on a recommendation from a friend with a restaurant in themharbour area.
The location was great, but we were disappointed with the room we were assigned which was small and had a really bad view of a fence at the back of the hotel, soooooo, I requested an upstairs room, which, after some hemming and hawing, the desk girl found on her computer after many suspenseful moments. The room we ended up in was bigger, and at least let in some sky light. So that was ok, but then the ugly Internet access monster raised its crusty head and started snapping at us. What on earth is so precious about wifi Internet in New Zealand? We had to buy vouchers to obtain limited bandwidth access for short periods of time. In all we spent $30 extra to be able to collect our email and make a couple phone calls.
The short of it is, this hotel is a nickel/diimer which is no fault of the staff. The staff were very helpful and friendly, but the hotel's obvious money grabs really do not uplift the image of the place.
Another instance of this was when I asked about the pool and spa (which were both too cold to be useful) I was immediately handed 2 towels, and a friendly warning that if they were not returned by 10 pm, there would be a $20 charge per towel! C'mon, MILLENIUM HOTELS, get a grip on customer satisfaction and goodwill. We've had free Internet at every hotel and BnB we stayed at since this 2 night stay.
Friendly staff, good location, clean rooms....that's about all I can say on the plus side.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Kingsgate Hotel in Whangarei sits just across the road from an inlet housing yachts, so it's a pretty setting with the bush covered hills right behind it. And an easy walk into the main shopping area of Whangarei. Dated decor, poor lighting and no bath but everything you need basics wise. Make sure you book a room away from the noisy main road.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jensjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This was a typical hotel room - a double and a single bed.

Bed was comfy and everything was clean and tidy. Given that a lot of people are staying here for business, I found that there could have been more space for working e.g. larger desk or separate table.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Saw this hotel while driving around, asked the price of the room, was told the price, we were happy, the room was ok, lighting was terrible, kept tripping out, towels were like hankies!!!next to pool and entrance, very very noisy from the people up stairs.
Went to book out and was told we owed another 5.00 for handling fee for our credit card !!!!!, you didnt tell us that one!!!!!!whats this handling fee!!!!!we just do it....Wont be back, as we were wandering what other handling fees are going to be accrued.
We didnt eat, we went to the water front for tea and breakfast, as not sure what other costs were going to be included.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula Maree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whangarei hotels

Newport, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had the best time staying here all thanks to the wonderful manager Mike who gave us a grat deal and a wonderful room overlooking the bay. The rate was NZ$165.00 and he let us have it for $135.00. It was the best room by far that we stayed in during our whole two week trip. Better by miles than the Stamford in Auckland which kids itself that it is 5 stars and is more expensive. Pool, gym, balcony bar and restaurant. Next time we will base ourselves here and fan out across Northland doing day trips which due to the size of Northland is very easy. Even the cheaper rooms at the rear of the hotels were large and luxurious.10/10 from us.

Room Tip: Try and get a front 2nd floor room overlooking Harbour. No lift .Back rooms are still tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foamcrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.5 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
3.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 9 Riverside Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre is perfectly suited to both business and leisure travellers. All 115 comfortable guest rooms & suites are air-conditioned and offer free unlimited WiFi & 50+ SKY TV channels. Conveniently located opposite the stunning Whangarei Town Basin and a few minutes walk from the city centre and Whangarei's most tranquil bush walks. The majestic Bay of Islands is less than one hour's drive from our 4 star hotel. Savour delicious cuisine at the on-site Portobello Restaurant and Anchor Down Lounge Bar. Work out in the fitness centre, swim in the indoor heated pool or relax in the spa. The hotel also caters for conferences and functions of up to 130 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing