We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very very happy”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here recently for a conference and was very impressed. The room was clean and tidy and well served for all items that you need on a business trip. The staff were superb, particularly Amy Masters on the front desk who helped me out with some printing and scanning. Nothing was too much trouble. The bar staff were good characters as well and overall I was very impressed with my stay. Definitely recommend if staying in Whangarei.

Room Tip: i would go for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roonbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    73
    76
    36
    19
See reviews for
39
73
7
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently had a night here and were extremely disappointed. The hotel looks great on the website, but in reality it is very run down. The bathroom is basic with no place to put anything, and had a small plastic shower, but no bath. The room was small, dark and dingy, but relatively clean. For NZ$200 this was outrageous to pay for such an experience. We had dinner in the restaurant - it was empty, - the food was expensive, and less than average. The only plus was the waitress, who was delightful. We also had breakfast, as our rate included that. We arrived for breakfast and there were no staff - only one table of customers. We waited 5 minutes, then as it was a buffet decided to start ourselves. The waitress then returns with a glare and then doesn't speak to us at all during out meal, but tries to remove plates when she can see that we need them from the buffet, and is quite unpleasant.
I definitely would not return.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siggy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whangarei hotels

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Kingsgate recently and enjoyed our stay,we had a room which overlooked the Marina so very nice! The room was lovely and clean and the Staff easy to deal with and most obliging. We had our breakfasts and Dinners in there dining room and we cant fault the meals and service.No complaints whatsoever and would gladly go back there to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 183Robyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you want to go back to the 70's then stay at the Kingsgate. It's tired, worn and old fashioned. The room was big but the bed was very small for two people. The bathroom had been updated but no vanity space, had to put toilet bag on the floor. The bedspread had stains on it, I complained but it wasn't replaced. The toilet didn't flush properly. The carpet was covered in stains. The only good thing is the location. Easy walk into town and accross the road from the harbour. And it was quiet. The staff were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I'm not sure why I stayed here without reading the reviews first... For a hotel that poses itself as really classy, it is anything but classy, it is really tired and feels and smells old and musty.
I might sound like an idiot writing this but everything in the room is difficult to use. There are no light switches on the walls, you have too look down and on the front of a low bed side table there is a bunch of really weird switches where you turn on the lamps from. The heat pump is difficult to use, you have to push three buttons specifically to get it to work and even then it takes 10 minutes to 'warm up' so you don't know that it's on, the receptionist told me when I called.
There are no small touches, there is no cutlery, no bin in the living area, there are no drinking glasses. Every single cheaper motel I've stayed in has given complimentary biscuits, but not this flash hotel, too flash for free bickies. The bed is really soft and uncomfortable. But worse than anything else, all the surfaces have a slimy film on them and I've found a crumb or two, uncleanliness is unacceptable in a room that you know thousands of other people have stayed in.
I chose this place for the free wifi (which you can only use int he lobby or bar) and the gym (which you don't need because anytime fitness is just around the corner) but I wouldn't come back. Not aweful, but nowhere near worth it's very high price in comparison to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clare789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our last night in Northland staying at the Kingsgate Hotel in a Family Suite, 2 single beds in the lounge, queen bed in the bedroom with bathroom off this. Ideal for a small family. Kingsgate Hotel is centrally located in easy walking distance to the CBD shops and restaurants etc. Our room was clean and comfortable and perfect for our overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Island, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

If your travels find you in the small Northland city of Whangarei you could do worse (far worse in Whangarei) than to stay at the Kingsgate. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the manager believes in supplying adequate loo paper (unlike those at costlier inns), it's located across from the bobbing boats in the marina, and an array of restaurants is a pleasant five minute walk away. There is a bar/restaurant onsite but why eat beef cheeks and neck chops at a hotel restaurant when the well priced Italian and Mexican menu at Reva's beckons across the marina? This hotel has a warm indoor pool, sauna, and spa pool, ideal for children, and there is ample free parking. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the quiet part of the complex well away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurieandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
3.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
0.5 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
139 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 9 Riverside Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre is perfectly suited to both business and leisure travellers. All 115 comfortable guest rooms & suites are air-conditioned and offer free unlimited WiFi & 50+ SKY TV channels. Conveniently located opposite the stunning Whangarei Town Basin and a few minutes walk from the city centre and Whangarei's most tranquil bush walks. The majestic Bay of Islands is less than one hour's drive from our 4 star hotel. Savour delicious cuisine at the on-site Portobello Restaurant and Anchor Down Lounge Bar. Work out in the fitness centre, swim in the indoor heated pool or relax in the spa. The hotel also caters for conferences and functions of up to 130 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing