We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in B & B Accommodation”
Review of Abbey B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey B & B
Ranked #17 of 31 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed five nights and found the experience a highlight of our NZ holiday. The B & B is new and located in a rural setting amidst beautiful scenery, yet close to the city for dining and shopping. The facilities are modern; comfortable and spotless. There is also a large patio deck which is ideal for sitting out and having breakfast while taking in the view. The owners are warm; friendly and generous. They also work at the local I-Site and provide great advice and suggestions and have a tour mini bus that can be made available. It's a great location for local touring or making day trips over the Northland. We highly recommend the Abbey B & B Experience

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Abbey B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Many thanks Lew for your positively 'glowing' review of our establishment (and the Whangarei and Northland area in general. ) Looks like the secret is out about our lovely part of the world!
It was great to meet up with you both. Kind regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Abbey B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights recently and found the owners very helpful and also happy to leave you to enjoy the ambience of their home. The B & B is located in a quiet rural setting , yet close enough to Whangarei for shopping and dining out. It is very central to many of the local attrations. The provision provided were extremely generous and the rooms were very clean in this near new home. We would highly recommend this B & B to the most decerning of couples. The owner also operates a mini bus and can arrange tours to suit your requiremnts

Room Tip: Both rooms available are well fitted out
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Classics1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Abbey B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thanks so much for your glowing review of 'our place'. As you say,we do have an ideal location here for exploring Whangarei and the surrounding areas.So much to see and do here. In fact I've just returned from a kayak adventure on one of our local tidal rivers. Magical stuff! (We can now offer kayaking for guests who may be interested. ) Once again , many thanks for your kind words; it was nice to meet you.

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at Abbey B & B on the first two nights of a three week trip to New Zealand, we could not have made a better choice. The hosts were most welcoming and the accommodation was immaculate. We were given great advice on places to visit and help to find them. Sitting on the deck patio whilst eating breakfast in the sunshine, listening to and watching the local tui, rosellas and pukekos was the perfect antidote to a cold, damp, dark English winter. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Owner at Abbey B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Hello, Graham and Cath! Many thanks for your positive comments on your stay with us. We so enjoyed your company and it helped that the weather was brilliant here in Whangarei at the time. I think you had the best two days of our whole Summer! At least our water tanks are now full of that lovely ”soft” water – great for the hair! Please look us up if you are down this way again. Kind regards.

John, Barb and Jo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
3.6 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
293 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
142 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
2.1 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#16 of 34 in Whangarei
54 reviews
1.8 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey B & B

Address: 53a Abbey Caves Road | Whareora, Whangarei 0175, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: £46 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Abbey B&B. Just 6 minutes drive from the Whangarei Town Basin marina, and a short walk from the Abbey Caves Reserve and the ancient kauri trees at AH Reed Reserve, we are also central to the magnificent beaches and bays of the world famous Tutukaka Coast and Whangarei Heads. Whether it be art galleries, craft markets, botanic gardens, museums, fishing or diving you will find it in Whangarei or it's environs. Spend the day exploring the Whangarei area, then relax on the decks overlooking bush and farmland. Enjoy a glass of wine; admire the graceful harrier hawks as they ride the air currents above you. Your own entrance way leads to a queen bedroom with en suite or a room with 2 generous single beds with adjacent bathroom. Make yourself a coffee in the kitchenette; watch Sky TV or use the wireless internet perhaps. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing