We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, shame about the road.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed one night here and the rooms were spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. These are the two most important things so I feel a bit mean for down marking this motel for some other things.
There was a small fridge and a microwave but no sink to wash cups/plates unless you used the bathroom sink. Not ideal.
The room was a disabled access room I think so the bathroom was a wetroom. This meant that after you had used the shower, the floor was soaking. The shower head holder was loose so you had to hold onto it to stop the shower head from flying around and the hairdryer worryingly cut out after a couple of minutes use.
The major gripe was the road noise. Even though our room was 50 feet or so back from SH1, the noise from the logging trucks going up and down was fairly loud. It was a bit quieter at night but you could still hear the odd truck trundling past.

In saying that, the owner was very friendly and the location very good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angels1five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

Have stayed here on a number of occasions and always found the owner friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and within walking distance to town. Rooms warm when weather outside is not!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms at the back of the motel to get away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FleurP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Whenever we stay in Whangarei this is our place of choice, no question whatsoever. Being right on Western Hills Drive it is accessible for whatever you want to do in Whangarei yet being set back from the road we never hear the traffic.

Rooms are spacious and it's great having the TVs mounted to watch the rugby from the bed! Water pressure and temperatures are always excellent, as is the bedding and bathroom accessories. Safe, easy to walk to town if need be, great office staff and they always remember your name :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTKTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

stayed two nights had book a one bedroom unit which was a great size, the unit was very tidy and clean. the hosts were very nice. Had breakfast both days it arrived on time and was good value for money would stay here again.

Room Tip: one bedroom unit good size if you have vistors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurice b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We based at Pohutukawa lodge when we visited the northlands of NZ. Very clean, very comfortable. huge rooms and huge bathrooms. Hosts were very nice, called up same day and they had availability - extended our stay an extra night and they could accommodate us and made it easy didn't have to change room. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Easy to find, clean unit and good sized unit with good friendly service and a great cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Second time I have stayed here and neither time been disappointed. The place is close to everything, quiet and the owners helpful. The rooms/bathrooms are spotless and the beds are pretty comfortable too. Only thing I didnt like was that you had to pay for a wireless connection as most places it is free now and part of the service.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LotsaBlondeMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
2.3 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
55 reviews
1.2 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ASURE Cherry Court Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Motel Villa Del Rio
Motel Villa Del Rio
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge

Address: 362 Western Hills Drive, Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Whangarei
Price Range: £54 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BK's Lodge is a great destination for the corporate traveler, and tourists alike, very close to the center of the city, restaurants etc. Comfortable beds, a great shower and a good night's sleep, that's what you want, and that's what we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whangarei Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing