We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect as a base to explore Northland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkhill Fine Accomodation
Ranked #14 of 30 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect as a base to explore Northland”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Perfect accommodation for two couples, with most comfortable beds and our own ensuite, plus a living room to relax in. Walking distance to restaurants and Whangerei harbour. Lovely hosts, very helpful and accommodating. Loved the fresh fruit at breakfast as well as the bacon & eggs!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is a perfect overnight stop, if you need to stay in Whangarei. The room has everything you need and much more. Attention to detail is everywhere. The mini bar was welcome, and very reasonably priced- which makes a refreshing change. The breakfast was scrumptious and plentiful and served in the separate lounge/breakfast area for guest use.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playnejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Lovely friendly and helpful host - to the point of offering us a ride to the airport, which we turned down as it didn't feel right as we'd only stayed the one night.

Breakfast (this is a bed and breakfast place) had the option of bacon eggs and mushrooms, but the continental selection was already more than enough.

Our room, the one with the single beds, had a spa bath which was why we booked it. The room was fairly compact, had a flat screen TV with all the major free-to-air channels. Close to major roads so there is a bit of noise from time to time but we are used to that because of where I live. The spa bath is corner style, not huge (two people would fit if they are small), but better than a normal bath shape and size.

Guest lounge is great and no chance of being too busy because there are only two rooms at this B&B. Flatscreen TV with many Sky channels incl sports but not movies, and a balcony with a good outlook toward the town basin area (an area near the riverside with boats). No cooking facilities but there is toaster, crockery, microwave, fridge, tea and coffee.

Excellently located close to town centre, so everything from supermarkets to takeaways to restaurants are within a 10 minute walk.

Overall we'd call it 4.5 out of 5.

Room Tip: If you want the spa bath you have to get the room with two single beds. The other room has a queen b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed one night to attend the Māori Business Awards at Forum North 5 minutes walk away. I booked online, the website is easy to use. We stayed in the B and B part. We had a pleasantly appointed room with ensuite. The extras were much appreciated: Baksana robes, practical hangars with wide sides to support suit jackets. The bed was really good, a bed I would have expected in a swanky hotel. Nice sheets too. We slept very well despite a few police sirens overnight. The guest lounge was easy to use, breakfast items including yoghurt in the fridge and selection of bread and english muffins, gourmet individually packaged cereal options. We didn't do the full breakfast as we were meeting up with whānau. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinemoa-auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Parkhill provided us with an ultra comfortable bed, lovely ensuite bathroom, a comfortable guest lounge, tasty breakfast and a most of all "value for money spent ". It is lovely to be able to enjoy the freshest of fresh fruit for breakfast, an extensive choice of breads to toast and delightful scrambled eggs with bacon to start the day. Couple that with lovely views and friendly hosts I would truly reccomend this B & B to any who need an above average stay. If there was one thing I would change it was the traffic noise but that was hardly the fault of the hosts ! The added convience of being able to make oneself a coffee at anytime was a bonus as was the biscuits to snack on. A great overnighter !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DyanneHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pentland House B&B
Pentland House B&B
#5 of 30 in Whangarei
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Whangarei
Quest Whangarei
#5 of 24 in Whangarei
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhill Fine Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhill Fine Accomodation

Property: Parkhill Fine Accomodation
Address: 7D Dent Street, Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Parkhill Fine Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing