We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth a visit”

Whangarei Quarry Gardens
Ranked #1 of 54 things to do in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Whangarei Quarry Gardens is a subtropical oasis created by volunteers in the remnants of a former quarry in Northland, New Zealand. The Gardens are open to the public and feature subtropical gardens, native forest walks, waterfalls, streams, quarry ruins, tunnels, a scented Camellia collection, a plethora of NZ native and exotic plant species and so much more... The Gardens are a work in progress and have been created through the blood, sweat, tears and laughter of volunteers, supporting companies and other interest groups. Entry is by GOLD-COIN DONATION, with all proceeds used to purchase plants and equipment. Thanks!
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A pleasant way to while away a couple of hours in the tranquility of these gardens.I found it a bit steep in places but it didn;t detract from the beauty of the place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank engset21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Thank you for the positive review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Yes it is worth noting that some of our tracks are steep in places, although most of the gardens are found in the relatively flat valley-floor. All the best and we hope to see you back again soon! - WQG Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    85
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Married”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

held our wedding here the staff were amazing and the photos taken around the gardens came out amazing, how lucky are we to have this little slice of paradise in our back garden

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tahli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Congratulations! We are very proud of the work our volunteers do, and really appreciate the support of families like yours :) All the best, see you in the Gardens soon! - WQG Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb oasis”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Beautifully maintained - loved the lake and thought I was on a movie set it was so peaceful and serene. So close to the town centre and get it felt a million miles away! The information centre will make a big difference I'm sure

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Cheers for the great review! Yes we are all looking forward to opening the new Visitors Centre and Cafe (hopefully early 2015), it has been a dream of ours for many years :) We hope to see you back in our peaceful oasis soon! -WQG Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“An artist's paradise!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I love, love, love the Quarry Gardens! My kids and I have taken many art classes there....from painting to sculpting. I love the hippy/artist commune feel of it and every time I'm there, I'm overwhelmed with creative energy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ijoymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Many thanks for the positive review!

However, I have a feeling that you have us confused with the wonderful Quarry Arts Centre in Selwyn Ave, Whangarei :) Don't worry, it happens often (the 'Quarry' is a bit confusing), you are welcome at both organisations anytime! They are our favourite neighbours (we are connected by a 45 minute bush walk) and they do a wonderful job for our creative community :)

All the best, we hope to see you in the Gardens soon! -WQG Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Garden Walk”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

A garden formed by volunteers from an old quarry. Truly splendid combination of native bush walks and scented flowers .The lake at the top(a five minute walk) is a peaceful and beautiful spot for lunch or morning and afternoon tea. Don't pass through whangarei and miss this. It is easy to find and just a one minute drive off the western bypass.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank maggic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei_Gardens, Manager at Whangarei Quarry Gardens, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Many thanks for your positive review! We love our Gardens and are very proud of our volunteers' efforts. Summer is coming! See you soon -WQG Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whangarei Quarry Gardens also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Whangarei Quarry Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing