We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Bunkdown Lodge

Bunkdown Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bunkdown Lodge
Reviewed 21 June 2013

It's not the cleanest place with the dog and cat hairs all over the place, but let's not forget it's a backpackers lodge! The villa offers good beds, free internet, free towels and sheets, 2 kitchens and enough toilet/bath facillities. And it has good hosts (Peter and Noelle)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rien_-_Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

Hostel is run by a elderly couple, is really tidy and realy clean as well!
There is nothing bad about this hostel as a nightstay and if you're a BBH Member it's even a not bad price... Peter, the hosteldad is realy a bit too hard looking on some rules and even he is very nice most time he looks a bit strange at you if you're not a kind of conservative and dont fit into his little bit narrowminded world. some times he can get a bit nasty.
After all I saw there and I felt on my own... I would NOT sleep there again.
Not because I didn't liked it there, but I think they don't realy wanna have travelers there anymore.. even they dont say, they make you feel a bit.
Sad but true :(
hopefully there will set up another hostel instead wich is a bit more backpacker-friendly and not that conservative.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Quite a walk from town and it's an uphill and downhill walk. They do offer pick up and drop off at the bus station.
2 Fully equipped kitchens so you can cook up a storm if you want to.
Tidy & clean but yes, you still get dog's hairs around.
Toilets and bathrooms are clean.
No free internet.
No heater in the room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nukesryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Beautiful old home, clean & cosy environment.The owners were welcoming, helpful & offered infomation about the town's activities though was unpleasant to smell alcohol on their breath. Did not particularly likehaving to make my own bed & generally feel personally unsafe not having a key to my room-only place I've been in my travel overseas (no key) where this is the case.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANTONIETTA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The first impression was quite in order. Peter, the owner showed me the hostel. He also explained to me the most about Whangarei. In the hostel there is anything, but no WiFi. In the hostel you live with the elderly couple under one roof. In my opinion they can not clean the Hostel alone. It was very dirty. Everywhere, there were dog hairs, even in my bed. In the bathroom scared me a roach. And the crazy is that you must take off your shoes in the hostel. I'm lucky to have flip flops. I hope they finally make an accommodation for free for cleaners.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

one of the cleanest hostels I've stayed at. I't's hard to even call it a hostel, because the owners actually live there as well, so the general feeling is like a home. the bathrooms and the kitchen, the lounge are all very home a like and cozy. very nice owners, adorable cat, and nice simple dorms.
a nice place to stop and rest before going further north.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yula1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

The hostel is nice enough with good kitchen facilities. Whangarei isn't that interesting in itself however, it's a good place to break the drive. The rooms were ok but thin walls. The value however was brilliant compared to other hostels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRobbyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
3.8 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
6.6 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#17 of 34 in Whangarei
56 reviews
1.5 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
3.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunkdown Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunkdown Lodge

Address: 23 Otaika Road, Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Whangarei
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing