We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard accomodation with awesome stuff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bunkdown Lodge

Bunkdown Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bunkdown Lodge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Standard accomodation with awesome stuff”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Location
Located to a big but road which goes through Whanagarei. A lot of parking slots.

Stuff
When I was there, there was an friendly and charming couple who managed the backpackers while the real owner was abroad. They are nice conversation partners and you should try their kifer!

Cleaness
It was okay if you stay only some nights. But for a longer stay it would annoy you or at least me. The whole place needs im my opinion a big cleaning.

Livingroom
It has two livingrooms. Both with TV and kitchen directly connected.

Kitchen
There is everything you need to make a nice meal! Maybe some of the utilities are old, but at least they worked.

Wi-Fi
No Wi-Fi. There is a very old computer which you can use to go online. But a lot of common websites worked badly because the browser doesn't support flash and so on.

Heater
Most rooms include electronic blankets and you will need them so hard! I also used a hot water bootle to stay warm during night. The rooms are very bad isolated like it is common in NZ. But you don't have to freeze. Ask the friendly stuff for a hot water bootle and enjoy your sweet dreams!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stiefa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    7
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
8
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

All in all this hostel can be described as 'not bad'. I was taken in at first by the charm of the old ornaments and the owners were friendly. Peter was a little too forceful about the bird recovery centre though so we went reluctantly. We found we enjoyed it in the end but were still a bit resentful that we'd almost been made to go. As others have said, there are animal hairs all over the place. I found some on my towel and my pillow which was a bit disgusting. There's no locks on the doors so bring a padlock for your things as there were no lockers either. Also bring your warmest clothes as apart from the rooms and the lounge, the house isn't heated. In fact, a couple of days it was warmer outside than in! This was still in Autumn too.
Good points were that it was so quiet and the lounge is very cosy in the evening. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were clean (apart from the shower mats which stank of feet and were never dry). They also pick you up from town for free. I'd recommend staying here for a few nights but no more.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_M535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

It's not the cleanest place with the dog and cat hairs all over the place, but let's not forget it's a backpackers lodge! The villa offers good beds, free internet, free towels and sheets, 2 kitchens and enough toilet/bath facillities. And it has good hosts (Peter and Noelle)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rien_-_Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tutukaka, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Hostel is run by a elderly couple, is really tidy and realy clean as well!
There is nothing bad about this hostel as a nightstay and if you're a BBH Member it's even a not bad price... Peter, the hosteldad is realy a bit too hard looking on some rules and even he is very nice most time he looks a bit strange at you if you're not a kind of conservative and dont fit into his little bit narrowminded world. some times he can get a bit nasty.
After all I saw there and I felt on my own... I would NOT sleep there again.
Not because I didn't liked it there, but I think they don't realy wanna have travelers there anymore.. even they dont say, they make you feel a bit.
Sad but true :(
hopefully there will set up another hostel instead wich is a bit more backpacker-friendly and not that conservative.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Quite a walk from town and it's an uphill and downhill walk. They do offer pick up and drop off at the bus station.
2 Fully equipped kitchens so you can cook up a storm if you want to.
Tidy & clean but yes, you still get dog's hairs around.
Toilets and bathrooms are clean.
No free internet.
No heater in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nukesryme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Beautiful old home, clean & cosy environment.The owners were welcoming, helpful & offered infomation about the town's activities though was unpleasant to smell alcohol on their breath. Did not particularly likehaving to make my own bed & generally feel personally unsafe not having a key to my room-only place I've been in my travel overseas (no key) where this is the case.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANTONIETTA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whangarei hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The first impression was quite in order. Peter, the owner showed me the hostel. He also explained to me the most about Whangarei. In the hostel there is anything, but no WiFi. In the hostel you live with the elderly couple under one roof. In my opinion they can not clean the Hostel alone. It was very dirty. Everywhere, there were dog hairs, even in my bed. In the bathroom scared me a roach. And the crazy is that you must take off your shoes in the hostel. I'm lucky to have flip flops. I hope they finally make an accommodation for free for cleaners.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
3.8 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
6.6 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
281 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stonehaven Motel
Stonehaven Motel
#9 of 34 in Whangarei
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#24 of 34 in Whangarei
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunkdown Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunkdown Lodge

Property: Bunkdown Lodge
Address: 23 Otaika Road, Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Whangarei
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing