We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant motel with helpful owners”
Review of Motel Six

Motel Six
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel Six
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2011

This motel is a bit out of town, but is quiet and pleasant. My studio had 2 rooms - a lounge with kitchen area and a separate bedroom. The large picture window had a sliding door to the garden area. The room was very clean, well equipped and comfortable. You can cook your own meals, or you are next door to McDonalds and there are other take-aways close by. For restaurants, I suggest you drive to the Harbour Basin for a good selection. There is a spa, but the water was very hot and uncomfortable after 5 minutes. The owners were very pleasant and keen to make sure I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for three nights recently on business. We have stayed in several different Whangarei establishments and yes, generally in this town almost all are older places in various states of repair. After reading the one helpful review and decided to stop by when we arrived in town. The motel was very centrally located with a large supermarket very close by as well as all sorts of familiar restaurants within easy walking distance (McD, Pizza Hut, Chinese, Fish 'n Chips). It was freshly painted and quite tidy on the outside. The manager was friendly and efficient and negotiated a fair rate for three nights. He was more than willing to store some items we needed for work in his freezer. The room was sparkling clean and in good repair, although if you awoke from a dream the only way you'd know what decade you were in was by the small flat screen tv in the lounge :) We will definitely stay here again when next in town on business.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmilinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Not much to look at from the outside, but the inside is a totally different story. Very Clean, nicely furnished, including flat screen TV, it is an excellent value for mid-grade/budget class Motel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Татьяна И
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dexik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DSB_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.3 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
1.8 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Central Court Motel
Central Court Motel
#19 of 34 in Whangarei
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
1 mi away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#9 of 34 in Whangarei
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Six

Address: 153 Bank Street, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range: £49 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel Six 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel Six reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing