We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking for an early morning breakfast?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Refuel Cafe

Refuel Cafe
Ranked #63 of 128 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Description: ASB leisure centre Kensington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looking for an early morning breakfast?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My favourite morning stop when I am working in the area. HIGHLY recommend the eggs Benedict. Excellent coffee. I am generally on their door step when they are struggling to get set up soon after 7am, but always friendly and quick to hand over the morning paper. Great views over the playing fields of the Kensington Sports centre watching the mist on the field and the sun coming over Parihaka. Easy parking (which is a biggie for me) Great spot.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevz110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great place to refuel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We often stop here when we're heading South from Kerikeri, and It saves parking in Whangarei.
We'd passed the Cafe for ages before we realised that the cafe is open to the public - and not just for people using the sports complex.
Initially we came because it was convenient, but now we come for the great food and efficient service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank morecambegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
267 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Menu and service good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is a good place to go when it is hot, indoor and out door seating has views over the sports park. Food is good cafe style food and service is friendly. They will accomodate any menu changes you request, not all cafes do.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

I go here after a gym workout at least 3-4 times a week, the staff are friendly as are the owners, the food is great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Love the food and friendly service. Sunny outlook over Kensington Park. Back again soon!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leeann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Refuel Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Refuel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing