We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding all round experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bank street social club - CLOSED

Bank street social club
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, European, Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Outstanding all round experience”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We have dined here several times and on each occasion the service has been impeccable and the food fantastic. The menu is different and encourages your taste buds to try new things, as a result you are left with an an overall taste experience. This restaurant thinks outside the square and offers something new and exciting which whangarei has been lacking. The meal portions are generous for some such fine food. Well done guys.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    14
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Seafood chowder - YUM!”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Went here for lunch with friends. The seafood chowder was DEVINE! Loved it, full of chunky fresh seafood and nice garlic bread to go with it. A fulling lunch. We waited a little longer than I would have expected for the food to arrive BUT it was so worth the wait!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FleurP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food & service”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had a family meal here. The booths were great because we could keep the kids corraled in. The food and service were good, prices were what you would expect. My partner really liked the House Pinot Gris which was Burnt Spur from Martinborough. I did find the decor a bit cold and sterile. When this place was Salut it just seemed to have a bit more character and a warmer feel to it - this could possibly be due to the decor. Certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toddsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
268 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice courtyard for summer dining”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The food is middle of the road, not great, not bad. Service is tops and has booths for intimate dinners or a lovely courtyard that is now very inviting. The only down side is that people still smoke in the area , it would be better smoke free. Lovely old building.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bank street social club also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing