We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth a visit!”
Review of Shotgun Betty's - CLOSED

Shotgun Betty's
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth a visit!”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a table booked for 6pm our food arrived at 7.30pm highly priced and very poor quality, my wife ordered her steak well done, 1.5 hrs later it was still pink.
The description of my meal was " pieces of rump steak piled high" 3 pieces of thin steak on top of each other does not constitute " piled high" the onion rings on top made it high! Texan cut chips were ok but you can get them from any 4 square.
The thing that annoys me the most is that other people arrived after us and were served and finished before we received our food, when we complained they threw the waiter under the bus! even though he was most apologetic, not his fault I think.
We were offered a 10% disc but our evening was already spoiled. Drink prices were above average unless you drink handles. We have dined all over Whangarei and so far the worst in 6 years for value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“owner throws staff under the bus for his failings”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Having had a wonderful experience here once before I raved about this place to my friends and booked for 10 of us (family, friends and young teenagers) to go tonight. What a let down!!! We waited an hour before the waiter came to us and said another 10 minutes, then we waited another half hour before being told it was just being plated up. A well done steak came out medium rare, the medium rare steak came out with well done bits and rare bits, one Enchilada was missing guacamole, the other enchilada had a surprise burnt chicken bone in it, the quesadillas were soggy and one had a lone mushroom attached to it, the chimichanga had no refried beans, the ribs had no bowl of water even though they said it would. The meals all came out at different times and we watched 3 other smaller groups who came in after us get served before us. One of our party even went and got the last meal herself as it was for the youngest in our group! We were told the chicken bone wasn't a bone...hmmm what was it then and why was it in our meal??? The poor waiting staff were sent to offer us 10% off our final tab by an owner (who when spoken to was drinking a bourbon behind the bar) threw his staff under the bus and told us that they were the reason why our meals were rubbish and that he had nothing to do with it nor could he do anything about it!!! He would not budge on the 10% which works out to be roughly $2 off every meal...WOW...way to make up for one of the most disgusting experiences we have ever had. Sorry to sound cliché but we will never come here again and we will probably not advise anyone else to come here either.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JDPrice11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Has potential”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Having read the other reviews we decided to give Shotgun Betty's TexMex restaurant a go ourselves. It was a family birthday evening so we were not in any hurry which was just as well as there were a couple of office Christmas parties in. We were advised of the wait so ordered drinks and vege nachos to share, which were tasty and chose mains from the fairly wide choice of standard TexMex fare you would expect. The mains did take time to turn up as only 1 chef on duty but they were again tasty and large portions though sadly no re-fried beans as they had run out. The restaurant has good potential and if they can work on speeding up service and not run out of staple TexMex ingredients then this place will be successful. we will go back again so try it for yourself

Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“terrible”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

took a group in food was terrible service terrile none of us would go back ever 18 meals not one nice one drinks dear a night spoilt

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaret o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently - The Best Food in Whangarei”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We are Whangarei immigrants from Auckland, where we had been spoiled for choice of good quality and diverse restaurants. In the eight years we have been living in the north, we have failed to find a restaurant with great food, and great prices. Having been a big fan of tex/mex and the Lone Star Chain, we were pretty happy to give Shotgun Betty's a go and were not disappointed.

The best Mexican food I've had in years! And the steaks are good quality and cooked perfectly. What more can you ask for? Well good service helps - and I have to say that the waitresses delivered on both our visits.

To be honest, I don't know what the previous posts are on about. Shotgun Betty's has wonderful food, in a casual environment with great staff! Do not hesitate, and give the Jalapeno Poppers a try - they're awesome.

Thanks Shotgun Bettys, we will be back - so much more on your menu we want to try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uandtrademe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shotgun Betty's also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing