We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Cafe

Riverside Cafe
Ranked #20 of 128 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cafe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Would never go back here! Poor service, I had eggs Benedict which was completely flavourless got my daughter pancakes she wouldn't eat them I tried them and could understand why they were terrible.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smithclan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin L, Owner at Riverside Cafe, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi there - thanks for your post. We were very disappointed to hear that you and your daughter were unhappy with your food - and we apologise for that. Can only assume that no mention of it was made to the staff as we have a policy that on the rare occasions when a customer is dissatisfied that we replace the meal or refund the money - this even for a coffee! The kind of standard you mention is not common, but we take all feedback, good and bad and use it to become better - Thank you once again and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show this was not the standards that were once in place, but the new owners are committed to major improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    58
    12
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch meeting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Thanks for the fantastic food and service. Fast and efficient very pleasant and friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this business.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cushty58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin L, Owner at Riverside Cafe, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi there thank you for the time you took to write a positive feedback for us at Riverside café. It's always a pleasure when a satisfied customer lets us know. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Options”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stopped in Whangarei for something to eat on the way home to Auckland after a weekend away. As we have two people with Coeliacs Disease in the family we found it extremely hard to find food that was gluten free. One café that we went into was very casual about it and just said that you can have this or that as it doesn't have wheat but we didn't feel confident that there wouldn't be any traces (our Son reacts to a tiny amount and gets very ill). When we asked one of the staff members at this cafe they went out of their way to check the ingredients in the milkshakes, and informed us what meals they had on their menu that were gluten free. The nachos were fantastic and the drinks and other food that we had were great. We felt confident that our concerns were taken seriously, and we didn't feel like we were an inconvenience at all. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwipoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin L, Owner at Riverside Cafe, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks for your review and positive response to our efforts to provide a range of gluten free products. It is something that we have developed from necessity because of requests and it is great that it is appreciated. Hope to see you again soon - spread the word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Treated ourselves to brunch on our last day so headed to Riverside Café because of its central location in the Town Basin area. We all enjoyed sitting outside undercover with a glimpse of sunshine watching the yachts. Great food, great location – all the best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin L, Owner at Riverside Cafe, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hio there - thanks for your feedback - it is a pretty special place at the Town Basin and if great food and coffee are added - well there you have it. Hope you can pass by again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome extended breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived closer to lunchtime, but everyone was pleased because we could still order their awesome hot cakes and eggs Benedict while others had salads. All was quite good. Casual cool setting by the water.

Helpful?
Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin L, Owner at Riverside Cafe, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for dropping us a line to let us know you had a great time - we look forward to seeing again the in the future maybe. Cheers Justin and Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverside Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Riverside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing