We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences”
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lupton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Over the past 5 years I have stayed in many hotels, motels and Lodges. This Lodge is by far the best place I have stayed in, it was home away from home. Clean, classy and quite. The host's were very accommodating and generous with thier hospitality. Well done Andy and Karen I truly was impressed with your high standards.

Room Tip: My only advice is "stop and stay"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nemosplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thankyou so much for your fantastic comments - hope to see you again sometime !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We loved staying here for 3 nights, 24th to 27th Jan, could of stayed much longer.
Andy and Karen were so friendly and helpful, the perfect hosts.
Andy's breakfasts and dinners were delicious, he is a very talented cook.
We had so much fun playing pool in the games room in the evenings.
The actual accomodation was very high class, and we would highly recommend Lupton Lodge to everyone.
Thank you Andy and Karen from Linda and Malcolm Jan and Tony.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jupiter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post your great review - it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

This was our final night in NZ and this wonderful property and friendly hosts were a last minute choice. Stunningly gorgeous B&B and we plan on returning some day. The whole Whangarei region was an unexpected surprise and possibly our favorite place in the entire country. Can't say enough good about Lupton Lodge!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank walkroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thankyou so much for your review, and glad you enjoyed your stay so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I loved staying at the Lupton Lodge. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We stayed in the red room pictured above. the room was huge. The property itself was gorgeous. Andy was so kind and made the best breakfast.

I would highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinamathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thankyou for your great review - we hope to see you again one day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The perfect place to use a base for exploring the area or just to relax in the lovely comfortable rooms, stroll around the orchard, read by the pool or just chill out in the lounge with heaps of books to read, CD's, DVD's or, like us, play pool for the first time in about 30 years. Andy and Karen are the friendliest and most helpful hosts ever, the breakfasts and dinners that Andy whips up are DELICIOUS, don't miss out on them.
We loved every minute of our stay here and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thanks for your great review, glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Hope to see you next time you are in Northland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Excellent experience at the Lupton Lodge, we stayed in the Green room and had dinner&breakfast cooked by Andy!! And it was amazing!! Everyone should try his seafood chowder, STUNNING!

The room was spacious with relaxing surrounding! what more can i say? experience of the life time and I definitely going back next year!!

Room Tip: we stayed in Green room and it was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thanks for your great review - it is most appreciated.
See you next year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I have just spent a wonderful night in the B&B. The room was very well presented, with a huge bathroom. Breakfast was superb. Next time I will also have dinner, as I have heard great things about it. I arrived early, and had time to kill, so it was great that there was a guest lounge with an excellent selection of CDs, books and DVDs. The host, Andy, was very friendly and approachable. The location is about 10 minutes out of Whangarei, and 15 minutes from Tutakaka,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thanks so much for your review, glad you enjoyed your brief visit.
Maybe see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
9.3 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
667 reviews
6.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
5.1 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
55 reviews
5.4 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
6.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range: £81 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired. Stunning boutique accommodation located only 10 minutes drive from the spectacular Tutukaka Coast and Whangarei city centre shops and restaurants. Stylish ensuite rooms, gourmet breakfast & free wireless internet. We offer a relaxed atmosphere and extensive facilities including: mature dry-stone walled gardens, pool, guest-only dining room for restaurant-style meals (dinner on request), lounge with pool table and DVD library. The rooms are in a category II listed historic villa and a modern converted barn. Each room is designed for privacy and comfort with contemporary uncomplicated decor, ensuite bathroom, comfortable queen or king beds, bathrobes, 32" flat-screen TV, DVD player, Freeview, heat-pump/air-con and tea/coffee. The rooms are intimate yet spacious. In keeping with a boutique hotel, the rooms are located in guest only buildings, separate from the owners accommodation. The villa rooms have rich wall colours, high ceilings, sash windows and polished Kauri floors. The villa has 3 double ensuite rooms including a suite (which can sleep up to 3 persons). The renovated barn includes a stunning ensuite room upstairs with apex ceilings. Downstairs is a large studio with kitchenette & bi-fold doors opening to a patio/BBQ area. These can be individual rooms or a 2-bedroom apartment with an interconnecting door. Enjoy the many local attractions or just sit back and unwind. 5 mins from Whangarei Falls, 1 hour to the Bay of Islands and 2 hours north of Auckland - ideal for exploring Northland and as your first or last stop in NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing