We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lupton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My wife and I came here for our wedding anniversary. Had a fantastic 2 nights here - everything was perfect. Great breakfasts, very comfy bed, nice swimming pool, well looked after place. They provide free wi-fi (not standard in NZ, although it definitely should be), and were willing to help with extra requests to make the stay more romantic.

Only complaint would be the bed was a bit squeaky under weddiing anniversary stress. ;)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeZandvliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2010

We were surprised at the location of Lupton Lodge; it's just outside Whangarei in the small town of Glenbervie, hidden behind a high stone wall. Seeing Whangarei is not exactly a huge town itself, driving the extra ten minutes is no big deal, and you are on the right side for continuing up to the Bay of Islands, or exploring the fabulous beaches on the nearby Tutukaka coast.

The house itself is a restored, period country homestead, with very large rooms that are almost 'bed sit' size and stylishly furnished. Our room included its own dressing room and ensuite. The house has free Internet wi-fi, but reception was a little poor at the front of the house. The bed: large and sumptuous.

The entire house is given over to the guests - the owners live in a converted barn at the rear, but they appear like magic at the press of a bell. A comfortable guest lounge is dedicated to playing billards, watching DVDs or listening to music or you can take a film from their library back to your room. There is a pleasant swimming pool, and a veranda wraps most of the house so you can follow the sun throughout the day to enjoy the sunlight. The grounds and gardens are large enough to permit a leisurely evening stroll. A cooked breakfast is included, and evening meals can also be provided given notice if you don't feel like travelling back into Whangarei to a restaurant.

Secreted in a quiet and quaint country location, this B&B is run with polish and professionalism. The helpful host was there when needed, and you really feel you have free reign to the property during your stay to mix and mingle with other guests. We only stayed one night, but this is possibly a good place to use as a base to explore Northland - day trips to the Bay of Islands are not out of the question.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky_and_Biglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We stayed at Lupton Lodge as part of our Honeymoon trip to New Zealand. From the start, Andy was extremely helpful, responding to our emails and helping with queries before we even arrived. Our time at the Lodge was brilliant. The room was well equipped, clean and beautifully decorated, as was the rest of the house. The extra faciliities were also excellent, it was extremely helpful to have access to the internet and the pool table and DVD loan system was great. Andy was a fantastic host, helping us to plan our trip by providing relevant advise and his breakfasts were delicious. What can I say...we'll be going back next time we're in New Zealand and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamandJimEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

My husband & I stayed at the Lupton Lodge for one night on our trip from Auckland to the Bay of Islands. It was a wonderful property with comfortable rooms & great food. Andy was an excellent host. We only wish that we had more time at this B&B so that we could have fully enjoyed the property & the surrounding area.

We stayed in the Blue Room, which has a private veranda with a hammock and a table & chairs. Coffee & tea facilities are provided in the room, along with a small refrigerator in the hall with milk and space to put your own items, if needed. There is a TV & DVD player in each room & the owners have a collection of DVDs available in the guest lounge to borrow. There is also a pool table, a CD player, a collection of CDs & books to borrow & a computer with internet access at no charge. They also provide free wi-fi.

Reviewing their website, you will find much of this information & we found that everything they listed was accurate. The house is a charming 100+ year old house, but the new heating system in each room worked wonderfully (we were there in the winter). The property is beautiful. The owners provide good directions on the website, but if traveling north from Auckland, I suggest stopping at the iSite for a map. The owners don't list all the street names & the map was quite helpful. The driveway comes up quickly with traffic moving at 100 km/hr and the blue & white sign that they mention is small, so keep your eyes on the look out. The estimate of 5.5 km past the falls is a good one. (And the falls are a 1 minute walk from the car park, so I recommend stopping there for a look & a photo.)

There are restaurants in Whangarei or Tutukaka, both 15 minutes in opposite directions of the property. However, if you order in advance, the owners will prepare dinner for you. Although we did not do this, it was a nice option to have. The menu for the day that we were leaving looked good. Had we been there another night, we probably would have tried it.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank MMM2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights in August 2008 and would be likely to return.

Very pleasant hosts, lovely rooms (we chose the biggest - the Red Room - having inspected all of them) and excellent breakfast. We also enjoyed the access to the library which includes books and movies that you can take to your room.

Only things to watch out for are that the room was quite cold with a small heater that didn't heat the full bedroom, let alone the bathroom; and that if there were several people staying at once, the house would be quite noisy over breakfast in the morning (limited ability to sleep in), although this is a factor with most B&Bs!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANDYCHEF, Owner at Lupton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2009

We have noted this reviewers comments regarding heating in the guest rooms.
We have been aware of this issue during very cold spells in winter - we have therefore recently had Mitsubishi Heat pumps installed in all rooms, which allows guests to have full control of temperature in their rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Close to both the Poor Knights Island diving and Whangerei. The road has home-orchards lining both sides with FANTASTIC, JUICY tangelos and good avocados. The lodge has a swimming pool and a games/movie room for guest use.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdkanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Beautiful location, warm, friendly welcome, first rate breakfasts and lovely stylish rooms - a real treat!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank YorkshireBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
9.3 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
650 reviews
6.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
5.4 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
4.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
55 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range: £78 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired. Stunning boutique accommodation located only 10 minutes drive from the spectacular Tutukaka Coast and Whangarei city centre shops and restaurants. Stylish ensuite rooms, gourmet breakfast & free wireless internet. We offer a relaxed atmosphere and extensive facilities including: mature dry-stone walled gardens, pool, guest-only dining room for restaurant-style meals (dinner on request), lounge with pool table and DVD library. The rooms are in a category II listed historic villa and a modern converted barn. Each room is designed for privacy and comfort with contemporary uncomplicated decor, ensuite bathroom, comfortable queen or king beds, bathrobes, 32" flat-screen TV, DVD player, Freeview, heat-pump/air-con and tea/coffee. The rooms are intimate yet spacious. In keeping with a boutique hotel, the rooms are located in guest only buildings, separate from the owners accommodation. The villa rooms have rich wall colours, high ceilings, sash windows and polished Kauri floors. The villa has 3 double ensuite rooms including a suite (which can sleep up to 3 persons). The renovated barn includes a stunning ensuite room upstairs with apex ceilings. Downstairs is a large studio with kitchenette & bi-fold doors opening to a patio/BBQ area. These can be individual rooms or a 2-bedroom apartment with an interconnecting door. Enjoy the many local attractions or just sit back and unwind. 5 mins from Whangarei Falls, 1 hour to the Bay of Islands and 2 hours north of Auckland - ideal for exploring Northland and as your first or last stop in NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing