We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lupton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Lupton Lodge was a great place to stay to get away from Auckland. The rooms were amazing and comfortable, the owners were friendly and helpful and the food was brilliant. It made the trip just that more special.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wombat172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

The hotel is a bit out of the way so I only put a 3/5 for location. However, the hotel itself was not what I expected. I was expecting a rather nice b&b but it was overwhelmingly more than that!

The rooms were prepared, with a jar of lolly cake by the bed! And the heat pumps had been going so it was cosy and warm when we checked in. We stayed in the Red room and it was quite simply - luxurious. A stunning room with gorgeous furnishings - it had an ajoining sitting room as well as an adjoining bathroom. The bed is King sized and was simply divine to sleep in. We even left the party early to go back and enjoy the room for longer!

We had exceptional service - the owners were very accomodating and knowledgeable. We had an extra guest at late notice for breakfast the next day and it was no trouble! I was very impressed and so was my husband. My family were booked into another room at the same time and they also raved about this fantastic place. The location isn't really an issue because next time we will be visiting Whangarei just to stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YDuggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We arrived at Lupton Lodge early in the morning, after flying to Whangarei from Canada. Andy offered us an upgrade to the Blue Room, as the Gold Room was not yet made up. It was a very comfortable room and had a door leading out to a private veranda and garden area which were very peaceful. We loved the country setting. One of the reasons we chose Lupton Lodge was so we would not have to drive to dinner on our first night in New Zealand. Andy prepared us a delicious dinner, which we had chosen ahead of time from a menu of five mains and two desserts. And we loved the Lupton Special Breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Lupton Lodge is a great find for the business traveller who covers Northland area or who is coming up to Whangarei. I have used Lupton Lodge on several occassions and it is my prefered option for accommodation. This is because it is so much nicer than any hotel (particularly any that are in Whangarei which are not value for money and are not very nice in my opinion). It is peaceful and relaxing location after a long day of work. It is great having a good size room and being able to eat onsite in the dinning room. They cater for my dietary needs (gluten free) which is great. I enjoy being able to unwind after a busy day with a walk around the area which is lovely with it being in the countryside. Yet it is close to everywhere I need to get to for business. My theory is when travelling for work I might as well stay somewhere nice that helps me relax after a long day and Lupton Lodge meets this need!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJTAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

great accommodation, food by hosts, service and cleanliness. We will be returning

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landscapedirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

When travelling for work, hotels can be very bland and all much of a muchness. Lupton Lodge is a wonderful alternative. Set in picturesque gardens (mind you it always seems to be wintery and stormy when I visit) the historic house has charm. The rooms are really spacious and comfortable.

The hosts are so helpful and make you feel very welcome - a home away from home. And the wonderful meals make an extra treat. And much better value than a chain hotel. While it's a little way out of Whangarei, its an easy drive and you really feel like you're getting away and having a break.
I'd definitely recommend staying here. I love it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAS100NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We have stayed at Lupton Lodge a number of times now and are always more than satisfied. It offers superior accommodation and facilities combined with the personal service of a family-run hotel.

The free, fast wireless broadband is a definite plus and puts Lupton Lodge ahead of many other hotels in the area.

Cooked to order breakfast are a five-star touch.

We're very happy to recommend Lupton Lodge and will be regular visitors in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katengeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
6.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
9.3 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
695 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#10 of 34 in Whangarei
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
159 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#5 of 34 in Whangarei
163 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range: £87 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired. Stunning boutique accommodation located only 10 minutes drive from the spectacular Tutukaka Coast and Whangarei city centre shops and restaurants. Stylish ensuite rooms, gourmet breakfast & free wireless internet. We offer a relaxed atmosphere and extensive facilities including: mature dry-stone walled gardens, pool, guest-only dining room for restaurant-style meals (dinner on request), lounge with pool table and DVD library. The rooms are in a category II listed historic villa and a modern converted barn. Each room is designed for privacy and comfort with contemporary uncomplicated decor, ensuite bathroom, comfortable queen or king beds, bathrobes, 32" flat-screen TV, DVD player, Freeview, heat-pump/air-con and tea/coffee. The rooms are intimate yet spacious. In keeping with a boutique hotel, the rooms are located in guest only buildings, separate from the owners accommodation. The villa rooms have rich wall colours, high ceilings, sash windows and polished Kauri floors. The villa has 3 double ensuite rooms including a suite (which can sleep up to 3 persons). The renovated barn includes a stunning ensuite room upstairs with apex ceilings. Downstairs is a large studio with kitchenette & bi-fold doors opening to a patio/BBQ area. These can be individual rooms or a 2-bedroom apartment with an interconnecting door. Enjoy the many local attractions or just sit back and unwind. 5 mins from Whangarei Falls, 1 hour to the Bay of Islands and 2 hours north of Auckland - ideal for exploring Northland and as your first or last stop in NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing