We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated, classy and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
2 reviews
“Newly renovated, classy and comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

My party had booked ahead and we arrived to be told we were being given a complimentary upgrade to the superior suite - for all three bookings! The rooms were newly renovated and they did a great job of it. Modern, classy, spacious. King-size beds. Awesome showers (the best I had while in the country!). Friendly and helpful service. The restaurant was unfortunately closed that evening due to low numbers, however we were given good advice on where to eat closeby. Breakfast from the hotel's restaurant was delicious, with a great range of dishes to choose from. I had an unhappy toddler who wasn't in the mood for dining out, however it was no problem for the staff to bring my breakfast to me. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckbeckbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    80
    42
    23
    10
See reviews for
37
78
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Lakes South Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

A bit apprehensive on arrival as there were a lot of renovations going on but that meant our room was newly furnished and really nice. The room is rather small and compact so it meant the ammenities were a bit tight but quite adequate, although no air conditioning, fan or clock. The bathroom basin was too small to fill the electric jug so a small jug was supplied for that purpose. There was nowhere to hang the hand towel and no toilet brush. Parking at the back of the room meant we had to pull our cases around a hedge to access our room but the french doors at the front opened out onto a long balcony for all rooms and with everywhere newly painted with immaculate gardens made it a very pleasant stay. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the food was exceptional. The bar food menu was just right for us in the evening and the breakfast most enjoyable n the restaurant overlooking the lawns. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank useoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Thank you so much to Discovery Settlers for making our wedding perfect. The staff there are amazing, Rick (manager) greeted the bridal party in the carpark when we arrived and it made me feel like everything was under control and being taken care of. The buffet meal was awesome, plenty of food and very tasty, and the staff were incredible, waiting on all the tables and helping people get their food from the buffet if they needed help. Rick and his team go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure that your day runs smoothly. They even helped set up all all our hire equipment for the outdoor ceremony and put it away afterwards. I was initally concerned about road noise being an issue for the outside ceremony but it was absolutely not an issue on the day, nobody noticed the traffic at all. Also, the rooms are very modern and comfortable. I would highly recommend Discovery Settlers as the perfect wedding venue.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We had my daughters wedding reception on the 22nd of feb and the team were just wonderful. Always there to help you and very nice to talk to and went out of their way to make my daughters day go as well as it did. The cake we had made for us was a big let down so the manager (Rick) did his best help us out. He;s just an amazing lovely man.The rooms are lovely and the food was great. We all were very happy. So thank you to all the team and manager you all are just the best. HIGHLY recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We had our wonderful wedding reception at settlers just last weekend. The team were amazing, all very willing to help and all went the extra mile to make sure our day was perfect. Our wedding cake was an eye sore and the team at settlers went out of their way to make it look better! The food was so good! All of our guests left with full bellies and big smiles. My husband and I had stayed at the hotel before our big day and the service, food and rooms were all just as good as our reception. We would like to thank the whole team with special mention to Rick, the amazing manager! You guys are the best. HIGHLY recommend !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are newly decorated and fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at the Discovery Settlers Hotel in Whangarei overnite on a trip to Bay of Islands.
Staff welcomed us and took our bags to our room.The room was modern recently redecorated nice duvets on huge king-side bed, and nice bathroom.
Even though the road was close I did not hear any traffic noise and slept very well in the cosy bed.
We had an ex buffet meal in the restaurant with plenty of choice including soup, meats, salads,
veges, and desserts. We also had a buffet breakfast which was equally as good. The food was excellent.
The Hotel is about 10min flat walk to the marinia so as the evening was warm it was lovely to take a walk to the marinia area.
Very nice clean Hotel and we would stay again next time we are in Whangarei.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karene63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

The Discovery Settlers Hotel on the banks of the Hatea river in Whangarei was the perfect place for our son's wedding reception for 60 guests. Beautiful park-like setting with excellent facilities, ample parking, a pool etc but perhaps their greatest asset are the staff who were welcoming, approachable and attentive. The rooms cannot be faulted, modern, a good size and had everything that we needed. Rick went all out to accommodate us and our family who had come from Scotland to celebrate this momentous occasion with us. The restaurant catered for us and the food was to die for. So many options available all cooked to perfection. The bar service was excellent as was the service in the dining room. The big screen TV in the bar added to the atmosphere as the blokes in our group got to catch some of the sevens rugby. The seated areas outside allowed for groups to stretch their legs and catch a breath of fresh air in-between the formal parts of the evening. The sound system ensured that the dancers of us got to enjoy ourselves too. We will be recommending Discovery Settlers Hotel to our family and friends as quite possibly the best place to stay in Whangarei. Thank you Rick and the team - you guys ROCK!

Room Tip: We booked "comfort rooms" which really could be called superior as they were very stylish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
0.5 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
3.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
1.8 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#9 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Property: Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Address: 61 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Settlers Hotel, perfectly positioned colonial style hotel with its in-house restaurant and bar, nestled in beautiful park like surrounds,a short stroll from the hotel will lead you along the riverside, down to the town basin; where the Whangarei marina bursts with international flavour. An assortment of colourful shops, and galleries can be found in this area. A short drive away lie the Whangarei Falls, a breathtaking waterfall and bushwalk in a beautiful native bush setting. Another 20 minutes on you will find yourself in the world-famous Tutukaka Harbour, gateway to the Poor Knights Islands. These Islands offer the most spectacular diving and snorkeling in New Zealand; with stunning underwater topography and a cornucopia colourful life. Dozens of white sand beaches, romantic paradise, or fun family getaway. These are just a few attractions Whangarei has to offer whether it's business, pleasure, domestic or international. Discovery Settlers is the place to stay in Whangarei. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing