We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, close to Paihia for Kingfishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed at Discovery Settlers when we came up from the bottom of the South Island to go King fishing out of Paihia. Was a great place to stay because it was not far to go for the fishing and close to so many other sights also. Rick and the staff were very friendly and helpful and the newly renovated rooms were awesome. Will definitely stay there again on our next fishing trip north. Thanks again guys

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

Settlers Hotel provided a comfortable refurbished, clean room. Very comfortable bed and quiet surroundings even though the room was facing the main road. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. The air conditioning unit in the room was a bit noisy and therefore could not be left on during the night. The restaurant provided great meals.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished larger room, as some guests in our party got very small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at The Settlers hotel on Sunday night. We had a family function to go to on the Sunday afternoon in Whangarei.
We asked for an early check in for mid-day and that was no problem at all.
Staff Very accommodating. Nice room, a little noisy from road traffic, at busy times of the day
Great deal and a delicious cooked breakfast included on Monday morning. Friendly staff
Would have liked bar snacks with our drinks on Sunday evening. Overall great place and so close to Whangarei township.

Room Tip: Would suggest units at the rear of the property re road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janlh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Thank you Rick and to the friendly staff for being so accommodating to our model A car club members. Everybody loved the clean, spacious and tastefully furnished rooms. Also the restaurant meals were spectacular. We all had a great time and will recommend Settlers.
Thanks again
Ross and Ann Bolton,
on behalf of North Island Model A Ford Club


  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ModelAfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Thank you to Rick (Manager) and all the staff at Discovery Settlers Hotel, Thanks to you our wedding day went without a hitch. I would recommend Discovery Settlers as a Wedding Venue.
The staff at Discovery Settlers are always more than helpfull and the accomodation is very welcoming.
Thank you again Rick and staff for letting us host and enjoy our wedding day at your venue.
Emma
x

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Once again another great stay at Settlers. I love the rooms up the back, newly upgraded, lovely furnishings, warm, close to carpark, quiet. We have made this our place to stay when I come up to visit my daughter with her little sister. The restaurant is great and the breakfasts yummy! The staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

If you are looking for a great place for your group to stay in Whangarei, look no further!
In 2011 we had a large group who stayed for 3 nights over Christmas and once again in 2013 for a one night stay. On both occasions our group was really well looked after by all the staff, the rooms were large, clean and well appointed, the buffet evening meals were FANTASTIC with plenty of choices with the breakfasts equally as good. The prices were very competitive and the ease of booking and follow ups was also friendly and hassle free.
Great grounds give a relaxed feel to the hotel. Easy walk to marina for a relaxed after dinner walk.
Passengers have often commented since our stays about how well they were treated and their fond memories.
Would recommend to anyone. Well done and a big thanks for making our stays so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalroy_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
3.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
0.5 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
146 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel Villa Del Rio
Motel Villa Del Rio
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Address: 61 Hatea Drive, Whangarei 0112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range: £56 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Settlers Hotel, perfectly positioned colonial style hotel with its in-house restaurant and bar, nestled in beautiful park like surrounds,a short stroll from the hotel will lead you along the riverside, down to the town basin; where the Whangarei marina bursts with international flavour. An assortment of colourful shops, and galleries can be found in this area. A short drive away lie the Whangarei Falls, a breathtaking waterfall and bushwalk in a beautiful native bush setting. Another 20 minutes on you will find yourself in the world-famous Tutukaka Harbour, gateway to the Poor Knights Islands. These Islands offer the most spectacular diving and snorkeling in New Zealand; with stunning underwater topography and a cornucopia colourful life. Dozens of white sand beaches, romantic paradise, or fun family getaway. These are just a few attractions Whangarei has to offer whether it's business, pleasure, domestic or international. Discovery Settlers is the place to stay in Whangarei. We look forward to hosting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing