We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-appointed motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well-appointed motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Three of us stayed here for one night and the only complaint was that the TV could not get any of the channels clearly, a pity as we wanted to watch the cricket. The accommodation was clean, freshly decorated and well appointed with a particularly pleasant bathroom. The rooms are spacious and the one who had the convertible sofa for the night found it comfortable enough. Though the unit we had was close by a main road, soundproofing was sufficient for it not to be a problem. All units seem to be at ground level. The managers are a pleasant helpful couple who respond to requests as one would wish. The location is convenient for the passing traveller though a bit on the edge of town for shopping and the sights, though convenient for the hospital.

Room Tip: Try not to be too near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    43
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
27
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I have stayed here a few times on business, the studio units are very good value, wifi availible with good speeds.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great room very clean and tidy, good price and very kind people. Would recommend to anyone who wishes to stay somewhere is Whangarie, will definitely stay there again when it the area. Thank you very much :)

Room Tip: room number 1 was great, nice king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nika2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Very clean. Friendly people. Little extras like cotton buds in jar in bathroom, choice of pillow sizes! Had a lovely stay

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeriouslyRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Very helpful staff, great spot for anyone wanting to try local food and wine in comfortable units close to town and tourist areas in the northland

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed for one night in the 3 bedroomed accommodation and all I can say was that it was one night too many. Slept up to eight people yet only had one bathroom with a filthy shower head above a tiny bath. The first person to have a shower had a warm shower but unfortunately that was the end of the warm water so the rest of us had a cold one. When we arrived the window sills were covered in dead flys and insects. The rooms were all extremely basic and didn't even have proper shades covering the lights. The sofa in the lounge as was worn uncomfortable and ripped and the mats were was marked. You won't, by the way, see any pictures like this on the website which is why we booked it in the first place. Clearly by some of the other reviews not all the accommodation is like this. My advice to the Cheviot is to seriously upgrade your 3 bedroomed unit at $280.00 per night in its current state it's absolutely over priced!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAM1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheviotpark, Manager at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor. We were very surprised about your comments.
Evidence by previous reviews, we are proud of all the comments about our clean facilities. We wish you would have told us straight away about your concerns, to give us the opportunity to rectify the problems ASAP.
The lack of hot water was due to a leak from the hot water cylinder. This was rectified immediately after the next guest came to the office to notify us.
The rip in the couch and the one broken light fitting was caused by the previous guests, being the Christmas period there was a delay in obtaining replacements. All have since been replaced.
We like to please our valued guests and use all feedback to improve our services.
It is a shame that the overwhelming majority who have enjoyed our accommodation don’t write into Trip Advisor to express this.
We have happy guests from all over the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights - 3 people in a one bedroom unit. Very good standard for the price. Some fittings recently updated and others while OK will need work soon. Noise level not too bad seeing the motel backs onto SH1. Friendly helpful owners.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
2.6 mi away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#9 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
1.5 mi away
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
Pembrooke Motor Lodge
#3 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel Villa Del Rio
Motel Villa Del Rio
#4 of 34 in Whangarei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheviot Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheviot Park Motor Lodge

Property: Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Address: Corner SH 1,Western Hills Dr. & Cheviot St., Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cheviot Park Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay in Whangarei, Cheviot Park Motor Lodge and Conference Centre is situated in Whangarei, just 2 hour's drive from Auckland and less than 1 hour from the Bay of Islands. It is conveniently located on State Highway 1, only 1km from Whangarei city centre, 650m from Whangarei Hospital and close to most sporting venues. All accommodation is on the ground floor with free secure parking outside the units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheviot Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing