We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regulars for a reason”

Shiraz Indian Restaurant walton street
Ranked #9 of 134 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Shiraz Indian Restaurant was the first truly successful Indian restaurant established in Whangarei. We have pleasure in bringing you the finest ethnic cuisine which evokes nostalgia of a glorious bygone era! Jaswant Singh and his team bring you the spicy, tantilising taste of India with a menu large and diverse enough for you to return again and again without ever tasting the same dish twice! You choose the degree of spiciness whenh you order either at the restaurant or for your home delivery. Traditional dishes from the best of authentic Mughlai and North Indian cuisine are there to tempt you, whether they be chicken, lamb, beef, seafood or one of many vegetarian dishes. Don't be concerned if you don't think you can cope with a hot, spicey curry as mild curries are available for those with a more sensitive palate. If you're feeling brave, try a hot Beef Vindalloo! As well as a huge range of curries, Shiraz offers a large selection of Indian breads and entrees to round out your meal. And after your meal perhaps a bowl of mango ice-cream would be nice to finish? Bookings are not essential but it is a good idea to call in advance as some nights are busier than others. SHIRAZ is a lisenced restaurant and has an excellent range of wines, NZ & Indian beers. SHIRAZ can be found in; Whangarei, Kamo and Dargaville. 5 Reasons why you'll have a great time at Shiraz 1. You'll have delicious freshly prepared chicken, lamb, beef, seafood and vegetarian dishes. 2. Your meal is prepared with the finest fresh locally sourced vegetables and dairy products. 3. Awarded A+ Merit food licence for food safety, cleanliness & training programmes. 4. Have a family friendly restaurant and children's menu. 5. Guaranteed you'll leave satisfied... Simple.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Regulars for a reason”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We have been to the Shiraz on several occasions. After trying the major competitor and being very disappointed with the food we switched to Shiraz and have not ever been let down. Perhaps there was one time that our butter chicken was a little thin on chicken, but other than that the food has been consistently delicious. We love the Lamb Saag. We have never had any issue with the service. Join the mailing list and you will receive a monthly special. This month it was $10 for all curries. We went for an 11th birthday - requested by the birthday boy - and had a lovely time for wonderful value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dubjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    69
    22
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shiraz - love it!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Good service and nice enough restaurant. Very large size. I imagine it could get quite noisy when really busy, but I picked a non-peak hour (haha). Great to quickly drop in for a bite to eat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not outstanding but good”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Large restaurant, one of very few open on 1st January, with massive TV screen ( but you can sit well away). The owner and family were also eating, a good(ish) recommendation. We had above-average food with complementary poppadoms, and a pleasant young waitress. Think it could get noisy if busy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HampshireBaggin... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Islands
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food less than stellar service”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I've been to Shiraz in Walton Street three times now. The food is delicious but on each occasion the service has been lacking.

Myself and a friend ate there for the first time in May of this year. We were later joined by another person but none of the wait staff came to see if she would like to order. Once we had finished our food we were left with our plates for a good 20 minutes before being approached again, and then were never offered the dessert menu.

Having really enjoyed the food I decided to give it another go in early June with my children. Once again the food was divine, but very long periods without any interaction from the staff.

Thinking third time must be the charm, I went back two days ago with a friend and my children. Again a long time waiting for service and there would have only been a handful of diners in the restaurant at the time. When we finally ordered our waiter was about to leave without taking drink orders. After our meal, and again sitting there with a table of dirty dishes, I started stacking plates..

My daughters food was quite spicy when asked for mild, but they graciously asked if we would like them to cook another meal for her which I thought was very nice, and which we refused as there was plenty of other delicious food for her to sample.

I was, I admit, gobsmacked when told there would be a charge of eighty cents for each "to go" container, but wasn't about to leave four unfinished plates of food behind.

Shiraz is great if you are not in a hurry and are there for the delicious food and not the service. I might just do take out next time...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingtillmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Little Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Love the food, atmosphere and music. Prefer Walton Street Restaurant to the Kamo one. Tables are not jammed together so you can have private conversations. Great service and choice of food. Also offers some European options so caters for a variety of tastes. Our favorites include Tandoori Prawns, Chicken Saag and Lamb Masala. Has lunchtime specials as well as a main menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DandM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiraz Indian Restaurant walton street also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Shiraz Indian Restaurant walton street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing