We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recoverying from Japan and the earthquake”
Review of Flutes

Flutes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flutes
Ranked #22 of 30 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Recoverying from Japan and the earthquake”
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Have just returned from a rather stressful time in Japan with the earthquake > 8 and aftershocks , so the wonderfulfood and lodging experience at flutes was especially appreciated.
We had wonderful food and enjoyed Dolphin watching in Bay with the owners KAye and Andy . The dolphins jumped out of the water seemingly expressing their enthusiasm for the beautiful sky blue waters and white clouds .
I recommend Flutes unabashedly to folks seeking a fine restful and yet enlivening experience of New Zealand .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

This is the 4th time I have stayed here - would recommend it to all who want an experience of a elegance and grace. Location is fabulous and outside entertainment is a winner.
I was there this time for a recuperation stay after surgery - and as usual was treated with the highest of standard possible. Kay and Andy are very very gracious friendly hosts.
Would guarantee this place to be one of the top locations in Whangarei heads to stay at.
Definitely A1 on any travellers list.
Girry Read

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GIRRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Flutes is a wonderful gem in McLeod Bay, Whangarei Heads. If you like being pampered then this is the place for you.

We stayed in the Bayview room and a you do get a beautiful view of the bay. Kay has ensured that the room has everything you need - from fabulous bath robes, to cotton buds to homemade chocolates and a small bottle of champagne! You get your own private deck outside the bedroom so you can sit outside and admire the view.

Kay is a wonderful chef and the choice for breakfast is awesome - homemade muesli, fruit, cooked breakfast, a choice of homemade muffins! It really sets you up for the day.

Whangarei Heads has a lot to offer. Mountains to climb and fabulous beaches. The Deck is a great place for having a meal - we loved their roasts. It is also a perfect location for exploring Northlands - the Bay of Islands is not far. Andy runs trips to various locations which makes life very easy.

We will definitely be returning here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadVic2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stayed for four nights in Flutes in our week in the area waiting to embark Oriana for a part world cruise. As there were 4 of us we booked both the rooms and had an absolutely amazing stay. It was a highlight of our whole trip and you could not fault any aspect of the accomodation or the food. We fully intend to return to New Zealand and would certainly return to Flutes. We visited the beautiful Bay of Islands taking the car ferry across to Russell, but even that area did not have the Wow factor of Ocean Beach or Mount Manai which you get a sensational view of from Flutes. We would recommend a visit to Helena Bay gallery for a coffee with a view. Top Sail restaurant exceeded expectations as did the whole stay really. Thank you Kay and Andy and please dont change a thing!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2010

In September I spent ten days at Flutes and found it to be a fantastic bed and breakfast in an excellent location Kay and Andy the proprietors were very welcoming and I was delighted with my Bay View room. The home comforts were very evident: a comfortable armchair,television ,fridge and ample tea and coffee. I was also happy to find hanging space for clothes, plenty of hangers, an iron and a hairdryer .

Having arrived after dark, I was delighted when I opened the curtains the following morning to discover the spectacular view over Mcleod Bay and was content to sit with a cup of coffee and watch the ever changing panorama of the Bay . I was tempted to open the hand made chocolates but decided to leave that delight for later.

After a good breakfast Kay and Andy were happy to share their knowledge of the area, the places to visit and the places to eat. The Deck just down the road has a warm friendly atmosphere and dinner at Top Sail should not be missed.

During my stay I spent many hours in the conservatory watching the wild life in the garden. It is an ever changing scene with the birds, rabbits ,ducks, and the pukekos who visit eagerly awaiting Kay providing a variety of food to suit them.

I would highly recommend Flutes and look forward to revisiting in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grams80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

This impeccable B&B 30 minutes outside of Whangarei is a true gem. I am an American who lived in Whangarei for a year, and I have stayed in several Auckland and Northland area B&Bs. Flutes was one of the best, if not the best. I have to admit that Americans are used to large, plush mattresses and cozy duvets, both of which Flutes provides (many NZ B&Bs do not and are far simpler). There are no bathtubs, but the showers are newly remodeled and spa-like. Kay and Andy are excellent hosts. In addition, Andy took my husband and I, along with our infant daughter, to the airport as part of Flutes' transportation service. We had to borrow an infant carseat from a friend for the drive, and Andy was kind enough to drop it by back my friend's place after driving us to Auckland. We also had an appointment in Auckland on the way to the airport, and Andy took us straight to the appointment and waited in the van for 30 minutes until we were done for no additional charge. He is also great conversationalist!

Kay is a WONDERFUL chef. She makes homemade chocolates that are to die for! My husband still talks about them. We loved everything she made. I have never met a better or more tireless hostess.

Both Kay and Andy are very knowledgeable about the Whangarei Heads area. Flutes is sandwiched in between McLeod's Bay and Mt. Manaia (which is an excellent 4-hour hike). It is an easy 10-minute drive to beautiful Ocean's Beach and it is under 2 hours to the Bay of Islands. The views off of the deck are of the bay and the mountain -- stunning. (You get a wonderful deck if you stay in the guest room, which is the room I am familiar with.)

I would definitely recommend Flutes to any traveler staying in the Whangarei area. It might seem like a hassle to stay 30 minutes outside of town, but I assure you it's worth it. You definitely feel like you are getting the NZ experience. The prices are also quite fair for a B&B of this quality.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atthelibrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

The basics: positives - clean, relatively comfortable beds, very well equipped kitchen, nice enough decor; negatives - make sure you are extremely clear in communicating needed sleeping arrangements, somewhat questionable renovations. The long story: Flutes is a b+b in Whangarei Heads which is a quiet area about 25 – 30 mins from Whangarei. The unit is on two levels with a sleeping loft advertised as having a “superior king sized bed (which can be split into two singles if required)” and a double Murphy bed in the living room. I had let the owners/operators know we were two friends travelling together - when we arrived the sleeping loft was configured in two twins and when we explained we had expected to use the King bed and the Murphy bed we were told there was an additional surcharge of $20 for the use of the Murphy bed. There is no mention of this surcharge on the web-site where the various rates are quoted and the owners/operators should make this clearer. That said - both beds were comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. The kitchen was very nice and is fully and impressively equipped. The decor is generally nice. If you enjoy TV the TV, dvd player and satellite tv are all quite nice. What we discovered as we used the suite was that some of the renovations to create the suite had a homeowner handyman quality. For example: the shower floor is not sufficiently tilted and has no built in edge so water ends up spreading out of the shower into the rest of the bathroom; in another area in order to power the tv and accessories an extension cord has been run down a wall. Easy enough to mostly ignore but compared to the decor, kitchen and the web-site these not so good touches were a surprise.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zsuzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
9.0 mi away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
14.0 mi away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
12.7 mi away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kauri Villas
Kauri Villas
#1 of 30 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
13.3 mi away
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park & BBH Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flutes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flutes

Property: Flutes
Address: 2119 Whangarei Heads Road | McLeod Bay RD4, Whangarei 0174, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing break at Flutes, for Bed and Breakfast and self-contained contemporary luxury accommodation, set in the shade of Mount Manaia . Our two accommodation options are : The Studio - self- contained with fully fitted kitchen, sleeps up to 4 people. The Bayview Suite - A spacious room with a kingsize bed and stunning sea views Both rooms have ensuite shower and Sky TV. Spa bathroom and sauna are also available for guests ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing