We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice dinner out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killer Prawn

Killer Prawn
Ranked #41 of 128 Restaurants in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice dinner out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Came to Killer Prawn after checking out trip advisor & local knowledge. Not let down at all, lovely food on offer.

Meals were well sized & the Tempura Prawns were the best I have ever had!

Service was ok, although production of a wine/beer list prior to being asked what you would like to drink would be handy.

Venue was warm & welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank SOC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    49
    22
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very lovely oysters, quaint welcoming setting & friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I loved our experience. The fire fire place was a bonus. The inside is castlesque with high ceilings & exposed rustic brick walls. Waitress was friendly & accommodating. The service was prompt. Wonderful selection of local beers on tap. The oysters were fresh & tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nietslimalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Iconic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

A must do for all visitors and locals alike. Fantastic food and service. You have to try the signature dish "Killer Prawn" - be prepared to wear a bib and get your fingers right amongst it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“So very very impressed!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I am writing this having just got into bed after an evening at Killer Prawn. My husband and I went for the first time having lived in whangarei for 6 months.
I would have left a sterling review anyway as the food was outstanding and the service impeccable but I feel even more compelled to after what happened. We had an altercation with another customer. I shall say no more. But it was handled SO professionally and my husband and I are both so impressed. The other customers were asked to leave, we were given coffee on the house, the head waitress (manager?) AND the chef came out to apologise and check we were ok. All In all just dealt with perfectly. Cannot fault you guys.
And to add... The young waitresses were equally charming and efficient.
We will be back. And we will spread the good word. Not that y'all need it. Thank you so much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bexen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland N.Z.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Large Group Satisfaction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A large group of people from Australia and all over New Zealand selected many different meals and everyone was more than satisfied with all dishes presented to them. Staff were friendly and the atmosphere great. The waiting time was efficient and all together it was a great experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maungatapere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Killer Prawn also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Killer Prawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing