We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Motel with Friendly staff”
Review of Coleraine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coleraine
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Parrearra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Modern Motel with Friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in the Coleraine Motel Greymouth on our way to Queenstown. The room was clean, modern and spacious with a well appointed kitchenette. The Motel is close to local shops and accross from the road from a tavern that serves great meals $25-$30. Best of all, the guys managing the motel were just so helpful and their local and (honest advice) was really appreciated and they made us feel very welcome. This motel put some of the more expensive and larger chain Hotels we stayed in during our tour of NZ, to shame. :-)

Room Tip: If you need some local knowlegde, ask the managers they will do their best to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    72
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
66
172
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nice modern clean room, comfy bed. Great bathroom and a very good water pressure in the shower which we enjoyed after a long drive. Lovely smelling shampoo and soaps. Well-equipped kitchenette. We loved the quality of water in Greymouth - it's so good-tasting we filled our drinking bottles for the next day. We arrived to the Colerain Motel on Good Friday on a rainy day after a big storm has just passed the West Coast. We were warmly greeted by Russell and the check-in was quick and efficient. We were given a map and recommendations of places to eat. We chose to drive up the main road and went to a nice little Indian cafe. On our return to the motel we've noticed that out room was directly above the communal little hall/meeting room. As there were a few people there meeting for drinks it became noisy a little later on but was not too bad. The motel is located on the main road and we thought the traffic noise may be a problem but the road was basically deserted at night so we slept with our windows open and had no problems.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorgetech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We recently stayed in this motel which would have to be as good as many five star hotels. Just the very best of experiences.What a pleasure. Thankyou. Plenty of car parking and an easy walk to a super market down the road.Walk in to Greymouth without any difficulty and wifi available for those who need to keep in touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We hadn't had particularly high expectations for our one night stay in Greymouth but thanks to Russell, his very nice motel and all of his advice we had an extremely enjoyable day here. The motel is modern, clean and comfortable with very good amenities in the room. Free parking and Wifi was also very welcome. Russell greeted us as if we were friends come to stay for the night and willingly spent time with us recommending outings and restaurants.
We spent the afternoon visiting the Pancake Rocks, well worth the short drive and then had a quick look at Greymouth, which might look better on a sunny day. For dinner we went to Beccleugh's, a very good restaurant behind the Recreation Hotel opposite, a two minute walk away. Dinner was so good that we went back there for breakfast as well. We left Greymouth in the pouring rain having thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocky081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel appeared to be quite new. Our room was very spacious, modern and super clean. The bed and pillows were also very comfortable and provided a good night's rest. The kitchenette was convenient and nicely equipped. Russell, the proprietor, seemed to be welcoming us to his own home. Plus you can easily walk to all the restaurants in town. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The proprietors collected us from the railway station after crossing on Tranz Alpine Express. This was an unexpected treat. The rooms were delightful, and extremely comfortable. We had a great night's sleep. The bathrooms were well set out, clean and tidy and a pleasure to use.

After having a good nights sleep the proprietors provided us with a ride back to the railway station to allow us to continue our journey back to Christchurch.

I would strongly recommend the Coleraine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked this two bedroom apartment online with booking.com. for 22nd Feb 2014. On arrival the friendly young lady on reception checked us in and showed us to the apt with no fuss and helped with luggage.
The Apt was a corner room with two large windows making it light and airy, very spacious with comfortable suite and dining area. All the facilities were clean and modern, with a super spa bath as a big plus. My wife and myself and my son and his girlfriend all rated this as one of the best motels we stayed in on our extensive travels in New Zealand. Well worth booking if in Greymouth. Congratulations to all concerned.

Room Tip: Corner suite large& bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greymouth
0.4 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
21.5 mi away
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
0.2 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coleraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coleraine

Property: Coleraine
Address: 61 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Greymouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Coleraine 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coleraine is a modern high quality property with 22 suites and apartments. Coleraine provides excellent facilities, high quality amenities and an uncompromising attention to detail by owner operators who strive for excellence in the delivery of accommodation services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coleraine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coleraine Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing