We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sundowner Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paroa Hotel(Greymouth)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coleraine(Greymouth)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aachen Place Motel(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apostles View Motel(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
81
49
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
49
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationgreat accessfamily unitfriendly hostsclose to townthe ownerlocal areacentral locationbed was very comfortableenjoyable staycouple of nightswithin walking distancetwo nightsfull kitchenstayed for one nightsouth islandthe main road
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This self contained 2-bedroom family unit at Sundowner Motel comes equipped with a small kitchenette with microwave and hotplate, complimentary tea & coffee and a large TV.
Being winter, the room was warmly heated and so was the bathroom. It was clean and comfortable. Nearby is a supermarket, The Warehouse, shops and eateries. The Greymouth train station is a 2 mins drive from the motel making it the ideal motel location. We boarded the TranzAlpine train from Christchurch to Greymouth, the capital of NZ’s West Coast, and free transfer was offered from the train station to the motel. Although there was complimentary wifi of 250MB per day at the motel, it was difficult to connect most of the times. Free parking is just infront of your unit. The motel is centrally located making it very convenient to explore the attractions in the West Coast.

Overall, it was a nice, clean, good and convenient motel and I would definitely recommend this motel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy Y, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Greetings from the South Island West Coast of New Zealand.

Thanks for submitting a review on Trip Advisor. We hope your holiday with your family in New Zealand was a memorable one and we are pleased that you choose our Motel to stay at while in the capital of the West Coast. Great to hear that the room suited the family and that you enjoyed the location with it's close proximity to the train station and the shopping district of Greymouth.

Happy & safe traveling
Murray & Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staying at the Sundowner Motel was part of making our Trans Alpine "family adventure" so successful. We were a party of 13 (8 adults and 5 children) ranging in age from 20 months up to 86 years. The motels at the back made it safe for the small children. The motels were warm, clean, a good size, comfortable and a reasonable price. A special thank you to Wendy and her partner for picking us up at the station, driving us to Monteith's for dinner and then on Sunday back to the railway station.We will be recommending Sundowner Motels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 422Jenny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy Y, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Hi again.
Thanks for submitting a review we are glad to hear that your Tranz alpine family adventure was made special by staying with us and experiencing our South Island West Coast hospitality. It was great to see all the children enjoying themselves and we are sure that your mother will remember her 86th birthday. Once again thanks for staying with us and we would love to see you stay with us again if you are in Greymouth.
Murray & Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we recently stayed at sundowner and we were very impressed warm comfortable and friendly and price was great as well ticking all boxes for us. Thankyou for such a friendly atmosphere. We would cerntinally recommend to anyone wanting a motel in greymouth!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 137TraceyT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy Y, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello again. Thanks so much for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us at the Sundowner Motel while on your South Island holiday. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Motel, we enjoyed having you stay with us and it was great to see you both out and enjoying what the scenic West coast has to offer. We would love to see you here again if you find yourselves back in our part of NZ. Cheers Murray & Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We paid $130 for an upstairs room with a covered balcony running in front of our room and 3 others. Not too convinced about " the views over Greymouth" from our balcony but, yes, you could see Greymouth. Anyway, the room was modern, clean and had everything we needed and we could have walked into town for dinner but it was raining. The heating in the room was good, as it was fairly cool outside and we found extra duvets in the top of our wardrobe which made the bed very cosy. There were two large easy chairs with footstools if we had wanted to stay in and watch TV and a bench outside where we sat and drank a glass of wine before we went out for dinner. Greymouth is not the most beautiful place to stay but this nice modern motel made it very easy.

Room Tip: The balcony room we had was advertised as being easy access as we could drive around the back of the building and then carry our bags through the building to the front. However you then have to drive your car back down the slope to park it for the night. Not really a hassle but a bit confusing.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy Y, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hello there, Thanks for staying at the Sundowner Motel on your recent visit to the West Coast, we were on holiday when you stayed here so we are pleased to hear that our minders looked after you in our absence. Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and commenting on our location as we are indeed the closest Motel to the town centre. Murray & Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed a night in Greymouth on our way from Nelson to Wanaka (had a late start). While the Sundowner may look average from the photos, the hospitality of the owners and the overall quality of the rooms make this motel exceptional.

The rooms are large, well stocked (kitchen and cleaning equipment, etc.), and well furnished. The bed was very comfortable.

The owners won us over by their kindness and hospitality. We arrived in Greymouth as a cyclone was passing through; we barely made it before the bridge and other major roads were closed. Despite 140km blowing debris all over, the owners braved the storm to make sure we had what we needed in case the power went out and that we were comfortable (it was a pretty terrifying drive there). They also made sure we had all the info we needed the following morning to make sure we had an open route to our destination.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UWShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy Y, Owner at Sundowner Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi there, We do remember your arrival during last months cyclone, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us even under the extreme weather conditions, we were only to pleased to provide you both with a safe haven for the night . And thanks so much for submitting a TripAdvisor Review as a lot of fellow travellers read reviews prior to booking their accommodation. We hope you both had a safe and enjoyable time during the rest of your holiday in NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews