We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Noah's Ark Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Coleraine(Greymouth)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aachen Place Motel(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundowner Motel(Greymouth)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paroa Hotel(Greymouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
119
71
22
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
71
22
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthemed roomsanimal themethe kitchendining room loungemonkey roomnice gardenstained glass windowsdouble roomcommunal areasfree herbswelcoming hosteltrain stationclose to town centrefavourite hosteltour busesduvet coverhighly recommend staying here
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Crazy with the animal theme! i like it! Enjoy the Tiger room! Or the pig room oder the kiwi room.
Cool people! I had a great trip in NZ, and great days in greymouth. The people in the hostel have been very helpfully, everything was very clean. They have an nice garden and a very nice and cute dog "Bess".
I enjoyed the "Hot Pool".
The kitchen is good, the bathrooms clean. Enough showers and toilettes. Everything fine!
Go in

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esta-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have to rate our stay at Noahs Ark one of our favourites!! We got what we believe is the best room in the whole place (the Giraff Room) which had an amazing feel to it. It was on the top floor with excellent views from its large windows over Greymouth and the hills. Bez the dog was adorable and friendly. The room was large with high ceilings and huge windows that let in a lot of light. The bed was comfy and the room clean. Showers were a good size and clean. Loved the themed rooms idea and the murals on the wall gave a great atmosphere. Didnt use the communal kitchen much although it looked large and well equipt. We loved the backpackers due to its unique atmosphere and great location.

Room Tip: Get the Giraffe Room if you can. Its at the front of the house facing the street. Large windows and high ceilings give it a bright airy feel.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirBleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We spent one night at Noah's Ark and had an awesome time!

We were picked up from the train station for free and taken to the hostel. Upon arrival we we're greeted by Bez the dog, a nice calm happy dog!

We were in the Giraffe room, excellent room with a view of the hills - really clean and comfy bed with a TV in the corner. The whole place has a great feel to it, like a big farm house.
The kitchen was great, plenty of room and plenty of hobs to cook with (and an oven).

Free to use computers for internet access - awesome lounge and dining area - really cosy.

Outside area was lovely, on a nice sunny day we lounged about reading our books, there was benches and hammocks to chill out.

Supermarket was a 5-10 minute walk away, near the train station.

We loved our stay here and highly recommend anyone who doesn't like the whole "part hostel" vibe, to enjoy this place as much as we did.

Great staff, great place and awesome dog! :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie_and_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I spent two nights in Noah's Ark, and it was one of the best backpackers I've ever stayed. Although it's only a few minutes walk from the railway station and bus stop, they offer you complimentary pick-up and drop-off. So if you're traveling with a gigantic suitcase or backpack, that'll be a bonus. When I stayed I was given a voucher for the use of 50MB wireless Internet, and the girl at the reception was willing to explain what "MB" is as I was not familiar with the term. She was very friendly and helpful. My room was airy and spacious with the pictures of cute sheep on the walls as it was Sheep Room. Every part of the building was beautifully decorated, which makes it distinguished from other backpackers. The kitchen has lots of space to store your food, and very clean. If you don't like dogs, you should know there's a Golden Retriever in the house although he's not allowed in the kitchen or guest rooms. He might give you this begging look when you're having dinner, but you can just tell him to go and he will. On the whole, he's a very well-behaved dog. They have a nice large garden in the back with two hens - a bit unusual for a backpackers. I liked this backpackers based on its uniqueness. One tiny complaint would be the lack of power points. You have to fight for it!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elysiriarelsila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a double room, the 'elephant room'. As people have mentioned previously, the rooms are decorated according to different animals which was a nice touch. On check in, we received 2 vouchers for free wifi, which was appreciated! The room was big enough for us and our luggage and fairly clean, although it is starting to show signs of age. We were right next door to the shared bathroom and shower, which we were dreading initially, but we actually couldn't hear anything!
The communal areas are good - the loungeroom has chairs and tables, couches as well as board games for people to play. The kitchen was good, but could get cramped when a few people were in there at once. There were free spices provided as well.
Not much to do in Greymouth itself, but this was a nice place to stay while we were travelling down the west coast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews