We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noah's Ark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Noah's Ark Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Noah's Ark”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We came across this hostel when researching our trip to the South Island. We were intrigued by the name and the images of the rooms and decided to give it a try. We stayed in the Giraffe Room which was very spacious. This hostel is warm and comfortable, and we found the beds comfortable. It is a very short walk into town where there is a limited number of eating options (McDonalds is on the corner). The hostel has a well laid out kitchen which we used a number of times. They also had a tv room, lounge, washing/drying facilities, fishing rods etc. You can also walk the dog. The hostel has a noise curfew which we though was good. We felt that it was very well priced and would be happy to stay there again if we revisited Greymouth. The shared bathrooms were spacious and at no time did we have to wait to use them.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    64
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
71
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very accommodating. They have almost everything you would need plus more including an iron, washer/dryer, games, fishing rods, etc. The dog is also awesome and you can take her on a walk if you want. If you want to stay for free, you can help clean rooms for a few hours as well.

The beds aren't the most comfortable, but the rooms are clean so I can't complain too much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annonommous123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

I wasn't a fan of greymouth- it was a last minute stop on the way down the west coast. However this hostel was so lovely that I'm glad I stayed there.

Hostel is a short 5 min walk to the centre, and the place itself is great- each room having a theme- I stayed in the monkey room. Mixed dorms of 8 people.

Noise Curfew of about 10:00pm and it is enforced ensuring everyone gets a good night sleep- however we were not told to vacate the common room, just keep the noise level down which was great for everyone!

Free wifi in the rooms, really great kitchen and common areas. Plenty of power plugs in the rooms which was great!

Be sure to say hey to the dog- you can even take the pooch for a walk!!

Definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaJDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Nice warm hostel with great views over the town. We came to see New Zealand's Gold Coast and do some adventure here and Matt organised it all for us. Ended up spending a few extra days. Rooms were a good size and kitchen was great. Our double room was great and I would recommend a stay here and in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here in May (in the cat room). Each room has a different animal theme, and we were collected from the station in the 'ark'. The room was comfortable, and there is a good sized kitchen and communal area and a nice garden. The owners and their dog are really friendly. It is not far to cafes/bars etc in greymouth, and easy to get to the station for the tranzalpine to christchurch and buses to the glaciers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Good little hostel, nice location helpful staff. Great tall ceilings and nice little garden!! We took the dog out for a walk in the morning! A nice way to feel at home! Thanks for being so accomidating!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Bunks have very soft springs, mattresses. May bother some. The double was very comfortable though!

Lovely dog and matt the owner was awesome. We checked out at 10 and he let us use the kitchens and hang around waiting for the tranzalpine.

Good location and good showers and layout.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
1.2 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Global Village Backpackers
Global Village Backpackers
#1 of 12 in Greymouth
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Hostel
Duke Hostel
#6 of 12 in Greymouth
119 reviews
1.8 mi away
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noah's Ark Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noah's Ark Backpackers

Property: Noah's Ark Backpackers
Address: 16 Chapel Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Noah's Ark Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noah's Ark provides warm and welcoming quality budget accommodation in a beautiful heritage building, just 100m from Greymouth town centre! Receive complementary 100mb high speed Internet access for every night you stay - so it's easy to stay in touch with family and friends or plan your trip ahead. (Use WiFi or our hostel PCs). From May to September our WINTER DEALS are on! Enjoy our free self-served breakfast of toast, spreads, tea and coffee, and if you are enjoying the cosy atmosphere we're making it easier to stay longer by giving you your fourth night free! (Conditions apply). While enjoying your stay at Noah's Ark you can relax in our luxurious spa pool, take in the west coast sunset from our balcony, or have a barbeque and then laze in the hammocks in our large garden. To explore the area we have some bikes that are free to use for you and you can give the new coastel cycleway a go! Or we can direct you to the local bushwalks and nearby beaches or advise you about the various adventure activities on offer. Noah's Ark was originally a monastery. It now offers characterful spacious private and shared rooms that are warm and comfortable, with self-controlled heaters, clean linen, duvets and spare blankets. The rooms are beautifully decorated with fun animal themes - you can choose from tigers, penguins, leopards and more. There are two log fires that keep things warm and cosy on cooler days and we have a large lounge with piano, guitar, cd collection, book swap and lots of games. There is a separate TV room with a big screen and comfy sofas and we have a collection of over 200 movies for you to choose from. Noah's Ark has a clean & fully equipped kitchen and are tea, coffee, sugar and spices are provided free for your convenience. We are located conveniently in a side street so it's quiet to relax but also only s short walk to the supermarket, train station and bus stops (5-7min). If you are wanting a homely, friendly atmosphere, great value and a warm welcome come to Noah's Ark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Noah's Ark Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing