We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent low-budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Noah's Ark Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Noah's Ark is not your run-of-the-mill backpackers. Each room is animal themed with crazy paintings on the wall (very fun). The toilets on the second floor are quite small with not enough showers. If the hostel was busier, this would have been an issue. The kitchen was well-equiped, but again quite small for the amount of guests staying there. There was only 100 MB of Wifi offered to guests but we didn't find this to be a problem as the atmosphere at the hostel is very welcoming with many places to socialize with other backpackers. Since my brother and I were just staying in Greymouth for the night, this was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethyb183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Greymouth is a small city, keep in mind limited options.

This hostel is a wide and old house. It has a well equipped and wide kitchen, there are few fireplaces in the rooms and a friendly staff. The shower is really good and there are several toilets around the house.

The bedrooms are ok, the heaters turn off after few minutes automatically (frozen experience during the night) and the beds are ok too. Personally I think it could be cleaner.

The check out is 10pm, but you can store your belongings in the TV room until 2pm (it's very suitable in case you get the bus or train at 1pm ish).

No free wi-fii. When you check in you receive for free 100mb.

In overall it's a ok experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Dai_Francis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Out double room was a good size and clean. The staff are all very nice and friendly. The kitchen is a good size and well equipped. The two main communal areas are great for sitting in & meeting people - especially when the fire's on. It can get quite cold but the rooms have heaters and hot water bottles are available. There's also the nicest dog around the place.
If we're back in Greymouth we'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

- Ok location
- No free wifi
- Good beds, bunks and singles
- Can be more clean!
- Friendly staff
- Enough space and equipement in the kitchen
- Medium size hostel
- Oud building
- stayed 3 nights
- Will be here again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jur25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt_Noahs, Owner at Noah's Ark Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback!
We do offer free Wifi for all guests. We provide 100mb free for each night you stay, with additional available at a cheap price. We have a daily limit because with NZ internet connections Unlimited = Slow and we want everyone to be able to enjoy it while they are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed one night in private double "Cat Room"- very cute, rooms animal themed. Bathroom facilities are adequate, not modern (building is an old monastery, heritage type-building), this is budget accomodation and was perfectly adequate for what we wanted. Good location in Greymouth, about 2min walk to town. Note no off street parking, but we managed to get a park out front- ask staff for directions for non-metered parking. Limited free internet access (plenty for what we needed), kitchen facilities good, large dining area and lounge. Lovely friendly dog Bez who loves to be taken out for walks by arrangement with his gaurdians. Really good value for money, would definitley stay again, and recommend for those looking for budget accomodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenNichol2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed here literally on route to elsewhere, but this is the hostel to stay in. A lovely welcoming host and gorgeous dog too. Rooms have high ceilings and make them feel roomy, good clean kitchen and social areas and a nice garden and veranda too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkirollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this hostel. It was just one night, as we caught the TranzAlpine train the next day to Christchurch, but the hostel was one of the best we have stayed in, in NZ. It has a really great, tranquil vibe to it - nice big kitchen with nice big windows, and our room also had nice big windows (this makes a massive difference - why do so many hostels go for a basement vibe??). It is a short walk from the bus and train station. We took Bez, the resident doggie, for a walk, and he was great to cuddle. Greymouth is a bit boring, but the hostel is fantastic - we would recommend staying for a few nights if you need to chill out. Well set-up communal areas. Lots of showers and toilets, big and clean with no waiting. Friendly reception staff. Good price. Definitely recommend for any stay in Greymouth. We were in the cat room which was quiet (although we could hear people next door watching tv for a while) and had good natural light, close to bathrooms etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Global Village Backpackers
Global Village Backpackers
#2 of 13 in Greymouth
228 reviews
1.8 mi away
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Duke Hostel
Duke Hostel
#6 of 13 in Greymouth
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 19 in Greymouth
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#17 of 19 in Greymouth
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noah's Ark Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noah's Ark Backpackers

Address: 16 Chapel Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range: £32 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Noah's Ark Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noah's Ark provides warm and welcoming quality budget accommodation in a beautiful heritage building, just 100m from Greymouth town centre! Receive complementary unlimited high speed Internet - so it's easy to keep in touch with family and friends or plan your trip ahead. (Use WiFi or our hostel PCs). From May to September we provide more competitive rates, and if you wish to stay longer we're making it easier by discounting your fourth night! (Conditions apply). While enjoying your stay at Noah's Ark, you can relax in our luxurious spa pool, take in the West Coast sunset from our balcony, or have a BBQ and then laze in the hammocks in our large garden. As your hosts, we pride ourselves on providing a friendly and helpful service. Our hostel is also a home to 'Cosmo' a very friendly dog and 'Jessie' the resident cat. To explore the area, we have free bikes for you to enjoy a cycle along the coast or to Point Elizabeth scenic walkway. Or we can direct you to the local bush walks and nearby, beaches and advise you about the various adventure activities on offer such as surfing, quad biking, rafting or a trip to the early settlers village Shantytown. We are fortunate to be located at the Gateway to the West Coast and larger tourist attractions such as Punakaiki and Lake Brunner,and the Wilderness Trail. There is so much to see and do. Noah's Ark was originally a monastery. It now offers characterful spacious private and shared rooms that are warm and comfortable, with self-controlled heaters, clean linen, duvets and spare blankets. The rooms are beautifully decorated with fun animal themes - you can choose from tigers, penguins, leopards and more. To keep you warm and cosy on cooler days we have a large heat pump and log burner. In the lounge we have a piano, guitar, cd collection, book swap and lots of games. There is a separate TV room with a big screen and comfy sofas and we have a collection of over 200 movies for you to choose from. Noah's Ark has a clean & fully equipped kitchen and are tea, coffee, sugar and spices are provided free for your convenience. We are located conveniently in a side street so it's quiet to relax but also only s short walk to the supermarket, train station and bus stops (5-7min). Cafe's and the local shops are also worth a visit as well as the prestigious Green stone collection at the local Art Gallery. If you are wanting a homely, friendly atmosphere, great value and a warm welcome come to Noah's Ark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Noah's Ark Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing