We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bez is best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Noah's Ark Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a very clean and friendly place. My wife and I stayed in a double room and all was good plenty of space and a comfy bed. The showers were clean and plenty of hot water. The staff were happy to help and kept the fire burning nice in the common room. The kitchen has plenty of pots pans and other things you need as well as 3X 4 hob stove tops as well as a oven and microwave.

We have stayed at many places and this is one of the best so far for many reasons including one of the most chilled out dogs ever Bez.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mangere275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

After long hikes in Abel Tasman it was nice to arrive at the clean and warm Ark. It has animal themed rooms, complementary breakfast, great hot water service and really large rooms. The bunk beds were a little bit uncomfortable but the single beds looked pretty nice. Nice fully equipped kitchen which everyone kept clean. Fireplaces for snuggling and eating dinner around. Really chilled and quiet vibe. Free wifi and close to centre the town is really small but the furthest thing away from the hostel is the supermarket.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This place was great, the quirky themed rooms (we stayed in the COW room with fresian blankets, pillows and pictures of cows on the walls). The staff were all really helpful and even accommodated storing our bikes even though we were leaving outside of office hours when we couldn't access the garage facilities that they had.

Toast and coffee was complimentary for breakfast which was much appreciated and there was a nice feeling to the place. And the dog was a cute feature too. Great work Noah's Ark

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

When I got in to Noah's Arc Backpack, I was addicted to its beautiful decoration on the wall and
there is a big dog, Bez sat in front of the reception. It seems like to greeting me! There are so many types of rooms for back packer such as "Tiger", "Monkey", "Penguin". All the rooms have different painting and design, even the blankets have different pattern in each rooms, too.
Well, I specially love the dining room. It is not only very clean but also let me feel like" I am back home".
Unfortunately, I only stayed here for one night :(

Stayed: July 2014
Thank 舜文鄭2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Big elegant house (ex Catholic manse?) with high ceilings, wonderful ornate staircase and extravagant timberwork. Big floppy friendly dog (everyone appears to love the dog) and wonderful animal themed rooms with murals. Efficient laundry and well appointed kitchen. Nice atmosphere, very helpful staff. Greymouth isnt NZ's most thrilling town (the name fits) but this place is big, bright and cheerful. Usual Wifi voucher system.

Room Tip: Depends which animal you relate to......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank black_faced_sheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Noah's Ark is not your run-of-the-mill backpackers. Each room is animal themed with crazy paintings on the wall (very fun). The toilets on the second floor are quite small with not enough showers. If the hostel was busier, this would have been an issue. The kitchen was well-equiped, but again quite small for the amount of guests staying there. There was only 100 MB of Wifi offered to guests but we didn't find this to be a problem as the atmosphere at the hostel is very welcoming with many places to socialize with other backpackers. Since my brother and I were just staying in Greymouth for the night, this was just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethyb183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Greymouth is a small city, keep in mind limited options.

This hostel is a wide and old house. It has a well equipped and wide kitchen, there are few fireplaces in the rooms and a friendly staff. The shower is really good and there are several toilets around the house.

The bedrooms are ok, the heaters turn off after few minutes automatically (frozen experience during the night) and the beds are ok too. Personally I think it could be cleaner.

The check out is 10pm, but you can store your belongings in the TV room until 2pm (it's very suitable in case you get the bus or train at 1pm ish).

No free wi-fii. When you check in you receive for free 100mb.

In overall it's a ok experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Dai_Francis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
Global Village Backpackers
Global Village Backpackers
#2 of 13 in Greymouth
228 reviews
1.8 mi away
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Duke Hostel
Duke Hostel
#6 of 13 in Greymouth
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 19 in Greymouth
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#17 of 19 in Greymouth
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noah's Ark Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noah's Ark Backpackers

Address: 16 Chapel Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range: £31 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Noah's Ark Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noah's Ark provides warm and welcoming quality budget accommodation in a beautiful heritage building, just 100m from Greymouth town centre! Receive complementary unlimited high speed Internet - so it's easy to keep in touch with family and friends or plan your trip ahead. (Use WiFi or our hostel PCs). From May to September we provide more competitive rates, and if you wish to stay longer we're making it easier by discounting your fourth night! (Conditions apply). While enjoying your stay at Noah's Ark, you can relax in our luxurious spa pool, take in the West Coast sunset from our balcony, or have a BBQ and then laze in the hammocks in our large garden. As your hosts, we pride ourselves on providing a friendly and helpful service. Our hostel is also a home to 'Cosmo' a very friendly dog and 'Jessie' the resident cat. To explore the area, we have free bikes for you to enjoy a cycle along the coast or to Point Elizabeth scenic walkway. Or we can direct you to the local bush walks and nearby, beaches and advise you about the various adventure activities on offer such as surfing, quad biking, rafting or a trip to the early settlers village Shantytown. We are fortunate to be located at the Gateway to the West Coast and larger tourist attractions such as Punakaiki and Lake Brunner,and the Wilderness Trail. There is so much to see and do. Noah's Ark was originally a monastery. It now offers characterful spacious private and shared rooms that are warm and comfortable, with self-controlled heaters, clean linen, duvets and spare blankets. The rooms are beautifully decorated with fun animal themes - you can choose from tigers, penguins, leopards and more. To keep you warm and cosy on cooler days we have a large heat pump and log burner. In the lounge we have a piano, guitar, cd collection, book swap and lots of games. There is a separate TV room with a big screen and comfy sofas and we have a collection of over 200 movies for you to choose from. Noah's Ark has a clean & fully equipped kitchen and are tea, coffee, sugar and spices are provided free for your convenience. We are located conveniently in a side street so it's quiet to relax but also only s short walk to the supermarket, train station and bus stops (5-7min). Cafe's and the local shops are also worth a visit as well as the prestigious Green stone collection at the local Art Gallery. If you are wanting a homely, friendly atmosphere, great value and a warm welcome come to Noah's Ark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Noah's Ark Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing