We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and comfortable”
Review of The Ashley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ashley Hotel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Greymouth
Reviewed 24 June 2013

First time at the Ashley, won't be the last. Friendly staff, good service, relaxed atmosphere, clean comfortable rooms and beds. Restaurant food was very good, although pricey. Seafood was cooked to perfection.and very tasty. It helps to have a car as a bit out of town in the winter.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Thank you for your review. Its great to see our high standards of hospitality were no exception to your stay and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again. Thank you for your comments about our restaurant "Jacobs Grill and Club bar". Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

151 - 157 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

Like most of NZ hotels, this place had a room full of amenities -- including a reasonably priced min-bar list for munchies. Breakfast was good. Desk staff very helpful. Good price. Near (via car) to all that this area has to offer--and is located on the town's main road leading to/from town center.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time taken and are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our music group of 40 people chose the Ashley Hotel for out annual trip, we found the hotel staff easy to deal with, the rooms were clean and well presented & excellent value for money. The Restaurant had very good breakfasts, we will definitely be back as a group & also as individuals. Thank you Ashley Hotel for your excellent hospitality

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarky_bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad too see you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to welcome your group back anytime. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stay here 3 - 4 times per year for business. The rooms are dated but have new amenities such as LCD TV's put in. The bathrooms could do with an overhaul.

Staff are friendly and helpful and the in-house restaurant is very good. Overall this is reasonable accommodation and I get a decent nights rest

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We take pride in our staff friendliness at the hotel and is great to see our high standards are no exception to your stay. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our customer experience and your comments go a long way. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel is just too far from town, unless you have transportation. We were on a tour and had to walk nearly 2 miles each way to find an ATM. The room was very small - really small. You can eat at the hotel, but if you would like to eat elsewhere, there is only one acceptable restaurant within walking distance. The staff were friendly and there is a coin operated washer dryer. The indoor pool was fine. Since we were on a tour, I do not know the prices for the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank authored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience of the location of our hotel to you, we find our hotel is better advertised as closest to the beach, also we take pride in our high standards we provide at our on-site restaurant Jacobs Grill. We thank you for your comments about our staff friendliness and are we are glad to see our expectation was no exception to you. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Having called Greymouth home for many years, I had frequently sent people to stay at the Ashley. However when I finally stayed myself I found it quite dated.
I did stay in one of the motels, rather than a hotel room.
Our room was a two bedroom unit that had a large master bedroom with two queen beds in it and the other room having two singles.
The bathroom had a separate shower instead of over the bath, which was a nice touch. And there was a full sized kitchen. The oven racks were greasy though.
There were downlights in the lounge but there werent any light switches to turn them on! Lounge was spacious though, just very dark.
One big thumbs down was the person that was climbing through the crawl space above our unit ariund 8am. Not what you want to wake up to.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tounga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize we did not meet your expectations. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our guest experience and your comments go a long way. We have reviewed our cleaning checklist to address issues raised, we have also implemented new maintenance procedures to check all light fittings throughout the hotel and also have made sure maintenance attendees take into account guests experience to not be disturbed when possible. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. We wish you all the best and welcome you back anytime. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hotel is located a bit far from Greymouth and has very few restaurants within walking distance. Fortunately the hotel does serve a decent dinner and drinks, but has a somewhat limited menu. Discovered a great scotch at their bar but this is probably of limited interest to most travelers. The rooms are okay but would benefit from some maintenance and updating. I was somewhat disappointed in the lack of variety of breakfast items. Overall the Ashley is okay to spend a night or two, but not a place I would want to stay longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ward416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and your comments go a long way. We are constantly looking at ways to improve our guest experience and your issues raised will surely be addressed. We thank you for your comments about restaurant "Jacobs Grill and Club Bar" and are pleased to see our high standards were no exception to your experience. We have reviewed our breakfast buffet selection and will be developing it further. We are located 3km south of the town center yet we are the closet hotel in Greymouth to the spectacular untamed West coast beach. Once again thank you for your comments and I wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
1.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#17 of 19 in Greymouth
497 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 19 in Greymouth
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 19 in Greymouth
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 19 in Greymouth
374 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 19 in Greymouth
367 reviews
1.7 mi away
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashley Hotel

Address: 74 Tasman Street, Greymouth 7840, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range: £62 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashley Hotel offers a wide range of rooms types from standard hotel/motel rooms to one & two bedroom family units. Dine in our Ala Carte Restaurant, relax with a drink in our house bar, or talk a leisurely walk along the beach which is only a 5 minute walk from our door. Our friendly staff look forward to offering you superior West Coast Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashley Hotel Greymouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing