We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ashley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paroa Hotel(Greymouth)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coleraine(Greymouth)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aachen Place Motel(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundowner Motel(Greymouth)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apostles View Motel(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
37
84
92
47
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
84
92
47
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel is locatedhotel roomreception staffthe main roadtwo nightsgreat showerbit datedan overnight stayfree wificlose to townjacobrailwaywestkitchenjourneysupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

The Ashley Hotel has given me the worst stay ever. The hotel does not seemed to be very clean and staff were not helpful at all when I needed more vanity items as the ones provided were insufficient. I would definitely not recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamelawongg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize you found our staff helpful, whilst we have spoken to our staff we would like to investigate this further, please feel free to contact me directly by email melanie@williamshotels.co.nz .Once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Ashley "Hotel" is a hotel and a motel, depending on the tariff. We stayed in room 19 (a motel room) and found the room to be clean, comfortable and wholly satisfactory. We did have concerns about security based on other reviews, but didn't have a single issue.

The staff and service were pretty cold, but I suppose for us we ignored the "Hotel" moniker and treated it like an average motel, which I suppose it is.

The location is convenient, but room 19 was on the road (and train line) so a bit noisy, and the parking situation behind the room was a little messy as everyone seemed to be parking in everyone else's spaces, as if they were missing spaces for some reason.

The furnishings were pretty out of date, but we spotted in other rooms that they had been updated somewhat so perhaps there's ongoing renovations.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that there is a hotel part and a motel part to this location. A train line runs between the service road and the highway, so rooms facing the road are going to be particularly noisy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonButcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed for a week while working & found the staff to be friendly, helpful & accommodating, especially Chrissie at the front desk who made me feel truly welcome. The room was comfortable & clean with 2 heaters - very important in winter. The restaurant had solid & good food, reasonably priced. Overall a good choice, would stay again

Room Tip: Some rooms have full kitchen facilities, others normal hotel rooms so there are options
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvonneWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your comments about our staff friendliness and we are glad to see our high standards of guest experience were of no exception to your stay. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Cars are parked across the road with no security (we have had our car broken into in Greymouth previously), check in and out was quick and professional but not friendly. The room, a king, was tiny with a view of other rooms. The mini bar was, as usual, over priced. The hotel restaurant was closed so we could not get food but they would have made breakfast and delivered it the night before. They also offered to change us to a room with a kitchen in the motel, the motel was about $20 cheaper so not exactly a good deal and not king size bed. We chose this hotel because it had an indoor pool and spa, it is the only hotel in Greymoth with an indoor pool. The pool was freezing not heated at all and the spa was disgusting. The spa is an old concrete spa with no paint and it looks disgusting so don't book this hotel for the pool or spa you can not use either. The place is actually well overpriced and I would not book it again.

Room Tip: If you are staying in Greymouth try another hotel, if you want to swim try another town.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nglenjarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your review. Your issues raised go a long way to improve future guest experience. We have multiple car park locations at our property and have never had an issue with security of cars. Our pool and spa are maintained to certified standards. Once again thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I had to book this hotel on the fly and was unsure about the quality of it as the website wasn’t very forthcoming. However, I was pleasantly surprised with it. The room was quite large and very clean and well presented.

The bed was soft and very comfortable, and the amenties were well laid out. The motel itself was quite large and was on the main road so easily spotted, if a bit noisy at night

There was a restaurant onsite, but we did not use it.

The only negative was the parking. There wasn’t much in the way of ‘designated’ car spots outside of the rooms, just areas to pull in. It meant that we got blocked in by the people either side of us and were unable to get out until they moved their car. But that is more of a comment on their etiquette rather than the motel’s design flaws.

All up, very happy, would stay there again if passing through Greymouth.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine_8_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at The Ashley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to welcome you to stay with us again. Your issues raised will help to improve our guest experience. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. Thank you once again and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews