We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alpine Rose Motel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Sadly the reviews did not live up to their granduer. We had the dreaded front unit. It was noisy and opposite a service station. There was a lot of traffic noise. Perhaps double glazing would help reduce the road noise. The room was ok, a bit out dated. The bed was too hard for my liking, but worst of all, my wife found pubic hair in the shower. Not a good look.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ap1957NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    38
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
47
96
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Great spacious apartment, had plenty of space for the kids to play outdoors, super friendly owner and had a gorgeous and very well trained dog to make the place feel. Less like a motel and more like home.. Definitely worth a stop for the night!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travellingfamily011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Comfortable, very clean and well equiped. There was a warm welcome when checking in. The Alpine Rose Motel is in a good location with a petrol station, supermarket and The Duck In Bakery (excellent) within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenlanegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Wow! What a lovely clean motel, the beds were comfy and the fresh linen felt fantastic. Location is awesome our kids loved being able to walk into town and to the nearby pool with slides! The hosts could not be more helpful. Would recommend to anyone and look forward to staying again very soon. Thanks heaps.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteDougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We hadn't planned on stopping in Greymouth, but ferocious rains made the decision for us. We read about the Alpine Rose on tripadvisor (thanks to all of you, by the way.) What a great motel. It was my favorite on the trip. The room was huge and clean and nicely furnished. The host couldn't have been more accommodating. When the rains cleared he suggested a lovely walk on the beach and a good restaurant. But best of all, the room had a giant Jacuzzi. We were delighted with our stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We were allocated Unit 1, right next to the busy highway so were a bit concerned about noise. At night there was very little traffic so we slept well, but early morning it was very loud, as it was very warm we had to have the windows open. The unit was very spacious, clean and really well equipped. Really good and quick WiFi (one of the best we've had on this trip), and remembers you so you don't have to keep logging in. Friendly and helpful hosts, lent us a torch as we were going to the old gold mine caves. Loved their dog! Would recommend, but maybe try and avoid Unit 1 if possible, or leave windows closed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

the host was friendly and gave us excellent guidance for our trip ahead and a very good map (free). the room was very spacious with a very comfortable large bed (a nice firm mattress, especially good if you have back problems). the bathroom had a jacuzzi! the place is as clean as it could possibly be, and despite being close to the road it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lososos62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alpine Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpine Rose Motel

Property: The Alpine Rose Motel
Address: 139 High Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Alpine Rose Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpine Rose is situated on the main highway (SH73) south to the Glaciers and the Haast Pass. We are just 1.5 kilometres from the town centre and two minutes from the hospital, medical centre, supermarket Aquatic Centre, Hockey Turf and service station. We offer 12 top quality, ground floor, one and two bedrooms apartments and also studio units. All have either Queen or Super King size beds, cooking facilities, and several also come with spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Alpine Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing