We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Brynkoru
Blenheim, New Zealand

Another great stay at the Alpine Rose

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2019
After such a good experience in the past at the Alpine Rose we booked again this trip and yet again had a great stay - very quiet, clean, comfortable and well set up rooms.
Location is good for most of the attractions around Greymouth and if your happy with a nice walk the town with all its eateries and shops is only about half an hours walk or five mins in the car.
Date of stay: April 2019
Room Tip: The rooms we have had over a number of stays have been first class
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
living room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £80
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £89
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £89
  • Hotels.com
0.3 miles from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £46
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £43
  • Hotels.com
1.2 miles from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £58
  • Hotels.com
0.4 miles from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 9 rear deluxe studio, queen & single bed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £74
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £66
  • Hotels.com
0.5 miles from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £70
  • Hotels.com
2.2 miles from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Grey Valley River View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £67
  • Hotels.com
1.3 miles from The Alpine Rose Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Greymouth
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
238
60
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
238
60
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner across the road stay there again room was spacious excellent stay train station good size stayed nights fox glacier town centre road noise a great place to stay pancake rolls roger motel supermarket kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2019 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. Reasonable prices. Informative pleasant host who happily recommended places to eat and very knowledgeable about areas to visit.
Room was amazing with kitchen, microwave, separate toilet, comfortable bed and even black towel for makeup removal 😁. Also, free choc’s! Thoroughly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Flic59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2019 via mobile

We weren’t expecting much from this little motel but it really exceeded our expectations. When we arrived the owner gave us some tips on what to see, where to eat and provided us with some maps. The rooms looked very clean and modern. I loved the bath and the little extra touches like chocolates on the bed. The bed was really comfortable and there’s nothing I could fault about this place. We really enjoyed it.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2019

Checked in for a two night stay and met a Dutch born gentleman, the owner of the Motel. He promptly checked us in and escorted us to a very nicely furnished motel room. The room was welcoming and spotless. Before leaving, he provided us with his list of things to do in the area. We followed some of his suggestions and had a great afternoon evening exploring this wild area of the west coast. Our second day was rain filled and we didn't get a chance to get out too much. If you are looking for a motel that is clean, comfortable and reasonable in price, then you need not look any further than the Alpine Rose.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cunclerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2019

Staying at the Alpine Rose Motel was a delight. The hotel is run by the owners which made our space even more special. Mr. owner is from the Netherlands, and he was very helpful in suggesting where in the area to find the best restaurants. There were restaurants within walking distance which was great, because we had not rented a car while in Greymouth. Physically, our unit was freshly painted and clean. It was full of bright sunlight because of all of the windows. All of the appliances and plumbing were in great working order. I loved that a refrigerator and hot water maker were provided. The owner provided some of my critical morning favorites including instant coffee, a variety of teas, sugar and milk. The owners had a bench outside of each unit which made it possible to enjoy a glass of wine outdoors. While the unit was near a highway, traffic noise did not interfere with my ability to sleep. We did have to take a taxi to this motel from the TranzAlpine train in which we arrived. I will note that this is not a high-end hotel, but my boyfriend who likes the best hotels really loved his stay at the Alprine Rose Motel. In fact, he loved this place so much he took photos of the unit. This will definitely be our go-to hotel in Greymouth.

Room tip: Buy your wine from the local liquor store. You can walk there!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joyfulfeminist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2019

Excellent facilities, huge comfy bed, large bathroom with jacuzzi or shower and a heat lamp, separate W.C., air conditioning which was helpful in 30 deg, very efficient laundry room and lines for outside drying. Helpful information given as a matter of course re restaurants, distances and supermarkets and a lovely suggestion of a morning walk in an ex gold mining tropical forest which made our day.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews