We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Duke Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Duke backpacker is an old hotel that was refurbished for a hostel use.
My first impression was all the colors of walls - It's a very colorful hostel (but not gay :) ).
I stayed in a single room. It's small but confortable room
All hostel is very clean. The kitchen is well equiped.
Is center location, near a big supermaket ( countdown I think) and the rail station.
The owner, Bartender, manager, travel agent and many other things is Dory.
Dory you make feel better, realy like in home.
Thank you so much.
Fabiano

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiano_Seabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    33
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
6
34
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

This is one of the best hostel that I have ever stayed. Greymouth is quite a boring place but the hostel makes our stay at Greymouth a pleasant one. The staff are very friendly and helpful (I felt so bad I can't recall his name). When we arrived, they upgraded us to a twin room for free. The room is a little cramp though but that's ok. The guy even gave me extra two duvets after knowing that I can't stand the cold weather. The hostel provides free half hour wifi which was good considering that many hostels in NZ does not offer that. They also have free breakfast and free soup every evening. This is really a bonus! What more can I ask? I am not a party goer so this place is really awesome to me.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ck-mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Loved it. The bed was big and very comfortable, we had our own private bathroom so that was a plus and the place was very very clean.
The manager was helpful, gave us a map and showed us things we can do aroutd the town and the weather was perfect as well.
The soup in the evening and the small breakfast were just a bonus and so was the free Internet.
Very recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeCooker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
172 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Staff is helpful, there's free soup at night, free toast&jam in the morning and Duke was the only backpacker's with free wifi. But, the place is very old, dark, cramped, with lots of old thick carpet, the curtains in our room didn't fit the window and the toilet didn't work well. Overall, we were ok for one night, our room wasn't that expensive, but if I would stay again in Greymouth (which is not a very interesting town) I would look for another place to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Lovely staff, very helpful. Free bread and jam for brekky, soup for dinner. Fireplace which can keep running as long as need. Rug up though as doesn't hold the heat well around backpacker. good internet access. accessible. Colourful decor. Would suggest going to the bathroom to right of stairs at top as it has no open windows - cold draft otherwise. Staff off for a holiday so check if open first. Would go back again although would consider summer instead of winter. Still extra doona and hot water bottle really helped.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sologirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

Stayed here 1 night in a single room. It is an old pub although repainted (for the better or worst?) in bright colours and called backpackers. The room was an ordinary pub room with a bed, basin and closet. Fully made beds and a heater in the room and the place was as clean as it can be with old carpets. Shared toilets and showers clean and functional. The kitchen large and well equipped. A free 2nd beer at the pub, free soup at night, free coffee all day and toast for breakfast added good value. Very friendly staff too!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

We stayed at Duke Backpackers 3 nights and enjoyed every moment of it, very friendly owners, very clean place, very comfortable beds. Very warm in the room (fully made-up bed with an extra duvet and a heater), the fireplace in the dining room was working all the time. Lovely colours.
Lots of free stuff, soup in the evening, breakfast, dvd's, coffee, tea, dvd's.
Greymouth was the base, one day we drove to Arthur's Pass, one day all the way to Westport via Punakaiki.
Very recommended.

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yotami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 21 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Noah's Ark Backpackers
Noah's Ark Backpackers
#4 of 12 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Global Village Backpackers
Global Village Backpackers
#1 of 12 in Greymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hostel

Property: Duke Hostel
Address: 27 Guinness Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand (Formerly Duke Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Duke Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duke Hostel is located in the very centre of Greymouth.All our guests enjoy FREE UNLIMITED WIFI & desktop, FREE BICYCLE, bread & jam in the morning, coffee & tea 24/7 and more.We offer wide selection of clean & comfortable accommodation including ensuite (private bathroom - the only hostel in Greymouth), double, twin, single, shared/dorm rooms and even a family room with ensuite.There is a big kitchen and a very spacious dining room, a TV room with big selection of movies and even a FREE pool table.The hosts are well experience travellers who do their best to make you enjoy your stay at Duke Hostel as well as your visit to Greymouth and the West Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Duke Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing