We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good funky coloured backpackers!”
Review of Duke Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duke Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Yes it may be a little tired and dated but who cares, the owner certainly isnt! Nothing is too much trouble for him. Dory is full of energy and information and he brings the place alive. He's like the colours he has painted the place in. Bright and electric!!! Beds reasonable, facilities clean. Free toast and jam in the morning, free homemade soup in the evening. 1/2 hr free internet and buy one beer get one free all ncluded. Great value for money. Recommend if you can cope with the decor!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzycut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Duke Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Duke for just one night. it was fine for a short stay.

The manager, Dory was very friendly and knowledgeable, even giving us a lift to the Monteiths brewery in his own time.

It was also very cheap and has a great atmosphere.

There is nothing bad to say about the kitchen or communal areas. Beer is cheap at the bar, much more so than in town.

The only real downside is the rooms, which are fairly tired. The decoration is average, and the beds old and cheap. its also fairly loud above the bar.

Fine to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASHM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed for one night just before Christmas and it was quiet in the hostel. Our room was perfectly adequate if a little tired. We didn't use the laundry or the kitchen but there was plenty of cooking equipment and crockery etc. The owner was very friendly and made us feel welcome and suggested places to eat. The communal areas were big and we enjoyed the free 30 minutes of wifi each.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Good backpackers in centre of town. Hostel is in an old hotel, with a sink in each room. Rooms are VERY colourful but clean and functional. Staff very friendly, and a free drink at the bar always helps!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

From the moment we arrived we were personally welcomed by the owners Dory and Shoshy a lovely couple who both had plenty of time to have a good chat with and tell us all about greymouth. From the spotless kitchen to the bright colored rooms we had a brilliant stay, spending more than a few nights in the bar at the front using the pool table. We would recommend The Duke to everyone. Thanks for having us you are great people . Tom and Indi

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29Indi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Central, friendly and possessed of a certain colonial charm - had a very pleasant night here in one of the ensuite doubles with a comfortable bed and decent shower. Free 1/2 hour wifi, free second beer in the welcoming, chatty bar and free coffee and toast for breakfast. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H_ranunculoides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Very old, but clean. Friendly staff.Large well equipped kitchen. Hanging out washing on a rickety fire escape was an experience I would not like to reapeat. The parking was out the back, but only for a set time late in the day till morning.Would stay elsewhere another time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#12 of 20 in Greymouth
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Noah's Ark Backpackers
Noah's Ark Backpackers
#4 of 12 in Greymouth
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hostel

Address: 27 Guinness Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand (Formerly Duke Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range: £44 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duke Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duke Hostel is located in the very centre of Greymouth.All our guests enjoy FREE UNLIMITED WIFI & desktop, FREE BICYCLE, bread & jam in the morning, coffee & tea 24/7 and more.We offer wide selection of clean & comfortable accommodation including ensuite (private bathroom - the only hostel in Greymouth), double, twin, single, shared/dorm rooms and even a family room with ensuite.There is a big kitchen and a very spacious dining room, a TV room with big selection of movies and even a FREE pool table.The hosts are well experience travellers who do their best to make you enjoy your stay at Duke Hostel as well as your visit to Greymouth and the West Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Duke Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing