We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic - good for backpackers”
Review of Duke Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duke Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is an old building, and there are no extras. No soap for the bath (they did have liquid hand soap). Friendly people. Wi-fi only in central room. Large modern community kitchen. Room was reasonably clean.

You get what you pay for. If you are on a tight budget, this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a bath if that is what you want. Some use a communal bathroom.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGSinbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeHostel, Manager at Duke Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review.
I'm happy to know you think it;s a good place for backpackers - that's what we are, a backpackers hostel. Thanks for mentioning the free unlimited Wifi, the clean room and the large modern kitchen. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Duke Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Common spaces were comfortable, fireplace made the cold weather much more bearable.
Great value for money esp considering unlimited free wi-fi incl in the rooms, the free soup in the evening s and toast and coffee/tea in the mornings.
Thanks for the welcome and all the info on the area.

Room Tip: There is a room that has an ensuite if you're happy to pay a little more.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jHopoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeHostel, Manager at Duke Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks Mate for staying with us and for taking the time to write this great review, we look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are on your way down south.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great place to stay at Greymouth. We came in a cold rainy night, immidiatly felt at home.
Very clan and tidy, smelly towels and sheets, fire place and free tea and coffee.
Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosas2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeHostel, Manager at Duke Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks guys, Toda, for choosing to stay with us, for being such enjoyable guests and for writing this beautiful review. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Duke was a fun place to stay. it was painted in very bright colors so it was easy to spot. The owner was very friendly and helpful, he even upgraded our room with no extra charge. So big pls for Duke!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliveTreeSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeHostel, Manager at Duke Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Thanks guys for coming all the way from China to stay with us and thanks a million for the excellent review. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

On one hand, this hostel has a lot of pluses - free wifi (about the only place in new zealand that does) and soup and toast. On the other hand, we were pretty sure we got bitten while sleeping in those beds. The shower leaks into the room so the carpet is constantly damp by the door. The host was very nice, but there is a lot that could improve this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7_Fitz7_7_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeHostel, Owner at Duke Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write the review.
We are happy that you found us friendly and that you enjoyed the free Wifi and the free soup and toast.
We check our beds on a daily base to insure no-one gets bitten so I don't think it's from our beds.
Sorry about the leak from the bathroom, it has already been fixed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

There was a huge spectrum of what I enjoyed and know that most would not have experienced Greymouth and Duke Hostel like most others would. The hospitality of both Shoshy (the hostess) and the WWHOOFers was fun and inviting. My wife and I loved the town and location of Duke because you could get to anything with the free bikes (obviously not Tour de France quality but free is free). There were many shops in Greymouth in walking distance and the essentials as well.

The Hostel itself has much history and just by looking around or asking you would receive plentiful knowledge in the history of the building. Interesting the building/bar is, but with the ecstatic colors and spacious rooms, you aren't bound in at all and have much joy towards the popping aesthetics of each room.

The kitchen was another highlight because my wife and I had stayed in previous kitchens that were much smaller and not well organized. Dukes kitchen was a place to cook, bake, and share a drink with an acquaintance or friend. The common room/dining room was likewise as well. Including an out of tune piano and fun colors and minimal games with couches and tables for eating and just generally chilling, it was the epicenter for hanging out and meeting other backpackers. Also the prime spot for Wi-Fi users, which is also free with your stay.

Since the building is older, there are features that could use updating/refurbishing like windows, the free use bikes, and the staffing at the time was short due to the hostesses' husband was away so it was the 3 WWHOOFers and Shoshy who were running the joint. But with some struggles here and there, every situation was handled. Wi-Fi is also not ideal in all of the building, but for my wife and me it was not at all a problem to be in the commons room and socialize while doing our internet business.

Overall as long as you have an open mind and take every opportunity, your stay at Duke's will be not just comfortable (my wife and i stayed in room 7, private queen, very comfortable accommodations) but fun, loving, and charismatic hostel experience.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify the type of room you are booking and don't assume that a room that houses 3 p...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeHostel, Owner at Duke Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thanks guys for staying here and for taking the time for such an informative review, we appreciate it a lot and love you positive attitude. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. Shoshy checked us in and we felt at home right away!

The building is old, but that's a part of the charm!

Pros: friendly host, good size rooms, free soup in the evening, free breakfast, free wifi, good sized kitchen with sharp knives.

Cons: can't think of any.

Thanks Shoshy! Hopefully see you in Thailand. Emma and Brad.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmat7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeHostel, Owner at Duke Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thanks guys for staying here and for the lovely review, it was great to have you here and hopefully we'll see you in Thailand very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#13 of 20 in Greymouth
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sundowner Motel
Sundowner Motel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Noah's Ark Backpackers
Noah's Ark Backpackers
#5 of 12 in Greymouth
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Hostel

Address: 27 Guinness Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand (Formerly Duke Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range: £44 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duke Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Duke Hostel is located in the very centre of Greymouth.All our guests enjoy FREE UNLIMITED WIFI & desktop, FREE BICYCLE, bread & jam in the morning, coffee & tea 24/7 and more.We offer wide selection of clean & comfortable accommodation including ensuite (private bathroom - the only hostel in Greymouth), double, twin, single, shared/dorm rooms and even a family room with ensuite.There is a big kitchen and a very spacious dining room, a TV room with big selection of movies and even a FREE pool table.The hosts are well experience travellers who do their best to make you enjoy your stay at Duke Hostel as well as your visit to Greymouth and the West Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Duke Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing