We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
76
39
12
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
39
12
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifithe kitchenenjoyed my staytea and coffeefriendly ownerscomfortable bedbackpackersnzensuitecrockerycheersheater
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

The manager and all the other staffmembers were very friendly. We arrived in the later evening. The manager informed us, that they later offer soup for FREE. We did not expect that. In the morning the offered toast, butter and jam. Coffee and tea was also available for free.

The room was really nice and clean as well as the showers and restrooms.

The area is really calm but if you have a car, there are some nice spots to visit. We would say a 1-2 days stay in the area is enough.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 1001_Tastes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Received a fabulous welcome to the hostel and was very impressed with the clean room and the facilities. It's a bit quirky but that's what makes it great. Free soup in the evenings, free bread and jam in the mornings. Free wifi and parking close by. Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Explore1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

At the first impression the property was looking old but when we had our look in to the rooms and bed we had a different opinion. The rooms, kitchen and lobby space were neat, clean and maintained well. The staffs were very courteous, they briefed about the local sight seeing places and other attractions nearby. Tea and coffee were available all the time in the kitchen ( self service). Morning free bread and evening free soups were provided. Old property maintained well by good and courteous staff.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank varagunan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeHostel, Owner at Duke Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thanks for staying with us and for the lovely review.
We are happy that you found our rooms, kitchen and lobby very neat, clean and maintained well, and that you appreciate the great service by the staff, the tea & coffee 24/7, the toast & jam in the morning and the soup in the evening.
Cheers,
Dory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

I originally planned to stay here for only a few days and I ended up loving it so much that I stayed for a couple of weeks. The hostel was very unique. Every room had fun bright colours. There was a bar in the hostel as well. Every couple of nights a bus would come in and it would be loads of fun! The kitchen was large and very clean! Really enjoyed my stay!!

Cheers!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeHostel, Owner at Duke Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write this great review.
We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us, and that you appreciate the large and clean kitchen.
Unfortunately, we don't operate the bar any more so we keep the hostel very quite.
I think that you confuse us with another hostel because WE DONT'T HAVE ANY TOURISTS BUS STAYING OVERNIGHT HERE. Actually, no tourist bus stops at any hostel in Greymouth, the last one was about 3-4 years ago.
Cheers,
Dory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Very welcoming delightful managers ... Late arrival no problem. Thanks;). Very comfortable bed indeed with lovey linen. Fabulous clean showers with great pressure. !! Perfect flying through evening but would love at have had more time here.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DukeHostel, Owner at Duke Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Thanks Sue for staying with us and for the excellent review.
We are happy to read that you appreciate my help and late check-in.
Wee are happy that you found the bed and linen very comfy, and our showers clean with great water pressure. It is most appreciated and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Cheers,
Shoshy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews