We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Infamous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Neptunes International Backpackers
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Sums up Greymouth: tatty and decrepit. The owner seemed to think that the price was reasonable but clearly hasn't realised that hostels have moved on a little in their spec and upkeep in recent years. Took one look round the place (both the hostel and the entire town) and decided to drive on 2 hours further to Franz Josef where for a dollar per night more we got something like from another planet. Talking to other travellers further round the South Island, they all raised an eyebrow and a chuckle at mention of this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AH81Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The building is on the old side, but the very friendly staff and the free bakery and internet makes worthwhile to stay. Kitchen and other facilities good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matheus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I stayed at neptunes for 4 nights, the kicthen was a good size for hostel. Free use of computers and wifi always a bonues. Friendly helpful staff, free lifts to and from the train station. Separate DVD lounge from sky, pool and computer room. Enjoyed my stay very much, even scones freshly made by staff daily.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazynotpsyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by how much this hostel had to offer. The free unlimited internet was a huge bonus and fast too... must have saved at least $20 each on that, the new log burger made the place really warm and cosy too... Staff were really helpful and free food went down a treat... 5 showers and two baths cant go wrong there (dont know what the other reviews were on about lack of showers, guess they didnt think to look down the other end of the hall !) plus you could shower any time of the day no problems.. yes the furniture is a bit old but what do people expect? its not a hotel, its a backpackers after all... and we were even able to enjoy a beer from the little corner bar with our fish and chips (that the owner kindly went and picked up for us).. cant really fault this place :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awakekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This was a hostel we had to stay at as there was no other choice and our bus trip was stopping here. There isnt much to do in Greymouth anyway, but being in this hostel made the time drag. Luckily we had our own private double room which had a nice bed, 2 heaters, a sink, a bedside lamp, a TV which you could only watch DVDs on with a crappy picture. The bathrooms were ok, baths and showers available, except you only had until 10am to shower then the cleaners closed them off until 12! Which was insane as so many people needed a shower at roughly the same time and there was always queues. the lounge area was unappealing, dirty poorly maintained furniture, and carpets, the pool table had balls missing the internet was slow, but it was free. There was a TV to watch films on i didnt agree with the baby tortoise in the tank swimming around like they wanted to be let out. The Kitchen was small and dirty flies everywhere, not enough utensils for everyone. The people that worked here were creepy and lingered in the halls not doing much work canoodling each other. The only upside was free breakfast, free internet. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Double rooms was nice, shared facilities though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mawj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 August 2012

We are now under new management, sorry for your discomfort whilst at Neptunes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Greymouth is a depressing enough place without staying here. My advice, don't go to Greymouth. If you DO have to go go there, treat yourself to somewhere decent!

This place was formerly an old pub/hotel and feels like it has been preserved in time, ghosts and all! Old dark corridors, Victorian mental institution bathrooms, strange people lurking around, damp and draughty, the common room used to be the old bar and feels oppressive. The kitchen is dreadful, one of the worst I have seen in any hostel. Far too small, always dirty and not nearly enough equipment for a hostel of its size.

The staff were lazy, uninterested and sometimes rude. On two occasions when I went to reception the boy there stopped me mid enquiry to do something else. The owner Steve seemed ok in our dealing with him, but come on Steve, sort this place out!

Are there any goods points? Well, the double room we had was not too bad, with a little sink and TV that did not work. There is also free wi-fi.

We felt depressed after our time there!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezziebahnezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Tatty and tacky! Old carpet troughout (with the accompanying smell), crammed bedrooms (u so wish they had invested in bunks, at least u could move in the room), tiny bathrooms (u cant shut the door without twisting urself), cracking paint everywhere and last but not least a tacky “’nautical theme” with everything from duvet covers to shower curtains with fishes and mermaids (i felt like an 8 yo girl).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
359 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 20 in Greymouth
16 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
485 reviews
1.7 mi away
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes International Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes International Backpackers

Address: 43 Gresson Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range: £11 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overview.Superior Backpackers! We offer dorm rooms, double rooms, single rooms and family rooms. We have tent sites and power/unpowered campervan sites. We have 2 lounges with warm fires, All rooms have self controlled heaters. We are situated a short walk to the train/bus station and town centre. Freebies.We offer unlimited internet or/and wifi, you get user ID and password with your keys.Freshly made scones on site daily.All you can eat breakfast (winter)Free off street parking. We have a huge book exchange for you to get lost within the books!!Our pool table is a great way to socialise with a pool competition every night(summer and busy times), Bar tab for the winner and certificate. We do not charge for pool 24/7. Darts board. Spa pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing