We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
16
11
9
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
11
9
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

They are so nice people.
There was no vacancy the whole backpackers of Greymouth because it was the easter season.
'Neptunes' had no vacancy as well, but they offered me dining room with comfy sofa and heater for free. even gave me a free free wi-fi., unlimited one.
so didn't have to sleep on the road, was still raining which was quite heavy lol.

And such a cute bar and spacious lounge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 요한 김
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

That is the nice way of putting it. We arrived here at a time when the owner had left and it was in the hands of the man we met. He was very helpful, but did not seem like he wanted to be in charge of a hostel. To be fair to him, he ran it nevertheless. The hostel itself was messy, the lounge was just a storage space, many of the kitchen's appliances did not work and was overflowing when we were there. There was a huge DVD collection and our room did have a tv capable of playing them though. It was a place to rest between journeys, but I would not stay here longer. I hope that it does get better though, it's a unique building and could be a great hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandA1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here during our visit for the hokitika wild foods fest because most places in hokitika were booked or too expensive.

We chose to pay a little extra to have a private room, but weren't expecting much based on previous reviews. The place was pretty run down, and I'm not entirely convinced the sheets were clean. The duvet was falling out of the cover, which I doubt had been washed since previous guests. The whole place had a strong smell, but mostly because it was an old building. The showers were cringeworthy, but had consistent hot water. The lounge area was reasonable, but the internet service is shotty if too many people are using it. It also seemed to only work in the public lounge areas. There was a bar, so you aren't allowed to bring in your own alcoholic beverages, but I never saw anyone available to serve. I never used the kitchen facilities, but they seemed adequate.

It was close enough to walk to anything in greymouth, but overall pretty dingy and disappointing.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Miriam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Website and flyers promise a lot of things they simply do not have: A spa pool, free bikes, free coffee, tea and spices, free bikes, free bakery goods etc. Yard is full of old stuff and if you want to camp you can build your tent right in the carpark - lovely! The rooms aren't any better, if you're lucky you get clean linen and have a working lamp. Staff consists of backpackers who work 3 hours a day without a boss around - so nobody knows anything. Reservations go missing constantly. If you decide to stay longer than one night you can at least get used to the smell... I wouldn't recommend it to anybody who appreciates at least a little cleanliness in a kitchen or bathroom (or light in a toilet...).

Room Tip: Go to a different hostel!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Website looked promising - big let down. Promised free bikes..but they were ALL broken. Yard full of junk, staff were backpackers that didn't know what was going on, kitchen was a nightmare, cooker and oven didn't work properly! The entire place was old and uncomfortable to stay in, bathrooms were not enticing to use and bed linen was not fully clean. Overall, terrible to stay and couldn't wait to get out of the place! Don't make same mistake!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Daragh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews