We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best backpackers in New Zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Global Village Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best backpackers in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Loved the decor of this establishment. We had 2 nights here and loved it. It felt like a home away from home. Everything was amazingly clean, from bathrooms to the very well equipped kitchen. Free tea and coffee. Kitchen has a balcony with outside eating area and BBQ. Our room had lovely views towards the coast. Garden was beautiful and a stream runs past the backpackers. Food recommendations by Russell were excellent. Bed was really comfy and the heating was perfect. Hair dryer in the bathroom a thoughtful inclusion. Didnt use the gym, sauna or spa. Lounge is welcoming and plenty of seating.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated with artefacts from all over the world. A couple of the rooms have their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annechop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    30
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
95
44
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mold
Level Contributor
530 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

great room, double, with a balcony at the end of the corridor, spacious and clean and quiet

interesting african theme with wood carvings and decorations

helpul host but not on the chatty side

good sized kitchen and dining room

only stayed the one night on the way from nelson lakes to wanaka but it would have been worth a longer stay

large comfortable lounge to boot

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadsten, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

When you first arrive you are impressed by the big collection of african, asian and aboriginal art you find in this place. It really does give the place good vibes. Furthermore, the owners are really friendly and helpful with all kind of things. The place is well maintained. It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in global village in a tent in the garden. So no comments about the rooms. But I really did appreciate the clean and warm bathroom and showers, the well equipped kitchen that it's finally big enough for the amount of people that can stay in the backpackers, and the very cosy livingroom where I hung out a lot.
The owner was friendly but not overly friendly. Which is fine with me. I had a very positive time here and would definitely come back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Esther L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed unfortunately just one night in this beautiful hostel,but I wished we could stay much longer. Perfectly clean and furnished. Kitchen facilities are great! Highly recommended!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DFatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Global themed decor throughout this lovely hostel. The owners are very accommodating and collect and drop off at the station, recommending places to visit on the way through including DP1 cafe and Monteith's brewery. The bunk beds are sturdy and comfortable, the bed linen clean and colourful. Each bunk has its own reading light and plug for charging your phone at night which is a first in any hostel I have stayed in. There is a lovely garden and you can borrow bicycles and kayaks if you want to explore. The living rooms is spacious & comfortable. Showers are clean with plenty of warm water. Kitchens also clean and very well equipped. Wifi allowance only 50 mb with option to purchase more. One the whole a lovely place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princessepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Awesome place to stay. Free bikes and kayaks!!!! Comfortable bed and clean showers. Great kitchen. Very close to brewery. Can ride bikes to brewery, take a tour, drink some beer! Great pitstop driving through South Island.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachellynn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.0 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Noah's Ark Backpackers
Noah's Ark Backpackers
#5 of 12 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Village Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Village Backpackers

Property: Global Village Backpackers
Address: 42-54 Cowper Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Village Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Global Village Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing