We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charles Court Motel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Greymouth
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic and clean”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Did not book just Turned up. Check in was straight forward . We were offered to see the room before payment. Which we did. We stayed in room 23 which is a one bedroom apartment. Straight forward clean and tidy, a little on the old side but never the less the price reflects this. We paid $120 for two people for 1 night. We thought it was good value for money. This place is geared up for the family, you can make basic meals in the kitchenette, the kids have a pool and playground. I would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    47
    38
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
45
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A comfortable, well equipped, no frills motel where your can park your car right by the front door. Its a 5 minute drive out of Greymouth and another 2 or 3 minute drive to the nearest restaurant. The staff were friendly and informative and the whole was reasonably priced. Our room was towards the back of the site and was very quiet.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the site are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David190343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We arrived in Greymouth in the rain and were looking for our motel. We finally found it located a way from the town centre. Not a bad thing. The accommodation we were in backs onto the playground with the beach located just over the sand hill to this. The night was wild and woolly with strong winds and rain. We were appreciative of our warm, comfortable accommodation. The room was a good size and we were able to cook our own evening meal in our room. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend this Motel in Greymouth.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I like the fact that you can park right outside your door so you dont have to lug all your suitcases and gear. Very convenient location if you have a car and easy to find. Good family spot with pool for summer, BBQS, games area and flying fox. we got upgraded to a room with spa bath as there were 3 of us but be warned there is only enough hot water for one bath - I guess you have to wait an hour or so for the water to reheat and we didnt have that much time.
Very comfortable accommodation and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We spent one night here before our train ride at Greymouth the next day. The room had a double bed, with very flat pillows, and a single bed for the two of us. The kitchen facilities were great, so we cooked our own dinner that night after driving out to the supermarket which was about 5 minutes out. Greymouth itself is just about an 8 minute drive away but there isn't much to do or eat there. The beach behind the motel is really wild, with the Tasman Sea pounding on its shores. The night we were there, it rained and the sound of the wind was quite scary.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whisker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We checked in late the previous night, at about 8.30pm. The next day, we couldn't finish packing our luggages on time, and called in the reception to ask for an extension which we were willing to pay. To our disappointment, the motel staff was NOT helpful at all. She insisted that we have to MOVE OUT this INSTANT as someone else is checking in to our room (note that the check in time is 2pm, and when we called to asked for extension, it was 10.30pm and we just needed the room till 11pm).

As a so called four star motel, my husband and I were super disappointed with the service. The staff did not give us any alternative, not only that, she came to bang on our door to CHASE us out very hostilely. Much too unprofessional. Last time I will ever be staying with them, and rest assured I will do everything in my power spread these negative remarks around.

Anyway, room itself is dark and not well maintained. I wouldn't at all come back here anymore even if it's free.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lishire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel466, Owner at Charles Court Motel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Our check out time is 10.00am you asked to stay longer and I gave you to 10.30am I came down at 10.40 and as I had previous stated to you that we were waiting to clean your room you said you would be out in 5min but you took a further 15min There was no hostility from me at all other than I knocked on your door to see how much longer you were going to be as I had already giving you extra time, we had a prearranged early check in and the room needed to be cleaned for our next guests which I explained to you, our check in time is 2pm and if prearranged you can check in earlier which you were welcome to do if you had of requested a late check out when you checked in this could have been arranged also I would have put you in a different unit that was not pre booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had a long drive form Wellington through Punakaiki to Greymouth, on 10th Nov, as per plan and chose to stay there as it's part of the Golden chain of motels, usually good from our NZ experience. We checked in late by 6PM and they gave us a good room in the back of the building away form the road. Rooms were big enough, the kitchen spacious with adequate gizmos to cook anything you want. Bathroom was spacious, clean and all round we had a nice sleep with the heater heating in up. Strangely, we checked up the lady at the reception about Haast being open and she was not sure!! The internet worked OK, so we checked up status of the pass on the net, it was OK. The yard at the back had access to beach and high watch tower with a zip line, kids need to be supervised up there. When we were up on the tower next day morning, we spotted a couple of rabbits doing rounds on the grounds, the views from the tower to the beach and surrounding area was good. Place is at the end of the town, so you'd need transportation if you want to move around. We were happy to spend the night there.

Room Tip: Room away form the road would ensure a quieter sleep, not much traffic on the road anyway :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel466, Owner at Charles Court Motel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, I am sorry we were away during your stay, we are not having anymore problems with the Haast pass, I didn't think to tell our minder this, normally we have all information on all roads to keep our guests well informed, hope to meet you next time. Kind regards Rachel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
2.4 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
188 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Paroa Hotel
Paroa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Greymouth
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
465 reviews
3.6 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#12 of 20 in Greymouth
95 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ashley Hotel
The Ashley Hotel
#17 of 20 in Greymouth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Court Motel

Property: Charles Court Motel
Address: 350 Main South Road | South Beach, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Greymouth
#5 Luxury Hotel in Greymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charles Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charles Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing